Tor.com content by

Morgan Rhodes

Fiction and Excerpts [1]
All

Fiction and Excerpts [1]

Falling Kingdoms (Excerpt)

, || Sixteen-year-old Cleo has grown up in luxury, the royal heiress to a peaceful and prosperous kingdom. But below the seemingly calm surface lies dangerous unrest, and whispers of war grow ever louder. Cleo has a deeper, more personal concern: she's desperate to locate a magic long-thought extinct. If it's real, it could be the cure that finally heals her ailing sister. Defying her father's orders, Cleo sets off on a secret and perilous journey into a neighboring country—a country that is about to declare war on hers. As Cleo's path entwines with rebel leader Jonas and rival prince Magnus, the only outcome that's certain is that kingdoms will fall. Can Cleo remain standing when all around her topples?

Falling Kingdoms (Excerpt)

Perfect for fans of Game of Thrones, check out Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes, out on December 11 from Penguin Books:

Sixteen-year-old Cleo has grown up in luxury, the royal heiress to a peaceful and prosperous kingdom. But below the seemingly calm surface lies dangerous unrest, and whispers of war grow ever louder. Cleo has a deeper, more personal concern: she’s desperate to locate a magic long-thought extinct. If it’s real, it could be the cure that finally heals her ailing sister. Defying her father’s orders, Cleo sets off on a secret and perilous journey into a neighboring country—a country that is about to declare war on hers. As Cleo’s path entwines with rebel leader Jonas and rival prince Magnus, the only outcome that’s certain is that kingdoms will fall. Can Cleo remain standing when all around her topples?

Intricately interwoven storylines meld with unforgettable characters and vibrantly imagined mythology in this sensational series debut, the first of four books that will leave readers craving more. The second book in the series, Rebel Spring, will be published in Fall 2013.

[Read more]