Revealing a New Edition of The Eye of the World, Book One of The Wheel of Time

With excitement building for the highly anticipated Wheel of Time Amazon Prime streaming series premiering this November, Tor Books is proud to announce two tie-in editions of the first book in Robert Jordan’s fourteen-novel series, The Eye of the World, coming out this fall: a trade paperback on October 5 and a mass market on September 28. Both covers depict Moiraine (Rosamund Pike) standing at a Waygate, an image that was revealed recently as a teaser poster for the streaming series at a virtual San Diego Comic Con panel.

Showrunner Rafe Judkins appeared in the panel to talk about adapting the series, which he was already a huge fan of! As well as showing the poster and announcing that the show will premiere in November, Judkins talked about how they have approached the challenge of adapting such a beloved series and praised the writers and cast he’s been working with. He also revealed that before he even started the first season he planned out eight seasons for the series. Amazon Prime has confirmed two seasons so far and is currently filming the second season.

This adaptation has been in the works since 2017; like so many things, it was delayed by the pandemic. The first season will be eight episodes, and most—though not all!—of those titles have been revealed. The show’s sprawling cast includes Josha Stradowski (playing Rand al’Thor); Marcus Rutherford (Perrin Aybara); Barney Harris (Matrim Cauthon); Zoë Robins (Nynaeve al’Meara); Madeleine Madden (Egwene al’Vere); Alexandre Willaume (Thom Merrilin); Hammed Animashaun (Loial); and many, many more.

Fans are still clamoring for a trailer—promised by the end of the summer, so keep an eye out!—but Prime has been dropping teasers including a glimpse of Daniel Henney as al’Lan Mandragoran; five seconds of Pike as Moiraine; Mat’s dagger, the Heron Blade, a snippet of Perrin and Egwene, and a look at the set.

The first novel in Robert Jordan’s #1 New York Times bestselling epic fantasy series, The Wheel of Time®.

The Wheel of Time turns and Ages come and pass, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades to myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the Age that gave it birth returns again. What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow.

When The Two Rivers is attacked by Trollocs—a savage tribe of half-men, half-beasts–five villagers flee that night into a world they barely imagined, with new dangers waiting in the shadows and in the light.

Since its debut in 1990, The Wheel of Time® has captivated millions of readers around the globe with its scope, originality, and compelling characters. The last six books in series were all instant #1 New York Times bestsellers, and The Eye of the World was named one of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American Read.

The Wheel of Time®
New Spring: The Novel
#1 The Eye of the World
#2 The Great Hunt
#3 The Dragon Reborn
#4 The Shadow Rising
#5 The Fires of Heaven
#6 Lord of Chaos
#7 A Crown of Swords
#8 The Path of Daggers
#9 Winter’s Heart
#10 Crossroads of Twilight
#11 Knife of Dreams

By Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson
#12 The Gathering Storm
#13 Towers of Midnight
#14 A Memory of Light

By Robert Jordan
Warrior of the Altaii

By Robert Jordan and Teresa Patterson
The World of Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time

By Robert Jordan, Harriet McDougal, Alan Romanczuk, and Maria Simons
The Wheel of Time Companion

By Robert Jordan and Amy Romanczuk
Patterns of the Wheel: Coloring Art Based on Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time


Back to the top of the page


This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.