Announcing a New Collection of Gene Wolfe Short Stories

Today Claire Eddy, Executive Editor at Tor/Forge Books announced a newly acquired short story collection from the late Gene Wolfe via Vaughne Hansen of The Virginia Kidd Agency Inc in a major book deal for World English Rights.

This new collection showcases the amazing breadth of Wolfe’s imagination, with fanciful tales ranging from science fiction, fantasy, and horror. “It’s like a window into Gene’s inner playground,” says Claire Eddy. “As Gene Wolfe’s last editor, I am so pleased to be able to bring out a new collection of Gene’s short stories, most of which have been unavailable to anyone who doesn’t happen to have access to archive copies of old magazines or limited print-run special editions. To have a new collection of brilliant tales from one of the true greats of not only SFF but American literature is a great privilege indeed.”

“There is a treasure trove of Gene’s stories that have never been collected. The hard part: selecting exactly which stories will go into the new volume. There are too many ‘favorites’ and ‘bests’,” says Hansen, “Gene would give a pleased huff, smile, and get a twinkle in his eye at the dilemma he has presented us all with.”

Gene Wolfe has repeatedly won the field’s highest honors, including the Nebula, the World Fantasy awards, and SFWA Grand Master Award in 2013. Lauded for penning some of the greatest science fiction stories of our time as well as times beyond our own, his eclectic mix of works ranges from the SF-noir of A Borrowed Man along with its brilliant follow-up Interlibrary Loan, The Land Across, which won Kirkus Reviews Best Fiction Book 2013, to the mesmerizing literary elegance of Peace, and his four-part masterpiece The Book of The New Sun, which has been unanimously acclaimed as his crowning achievement.

Gene Wolfe (1931-2019) was a winner of the World Fantasy Award for Life Achievement, multiple winner of the Nebula Award and the World Fantasy Award, as well as the John W. Campbell Memorial Award, the British Fantasy Award, and the Prix-Tour Apollo. In 2007, he was inducted into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame. In 2013, he received the SFWA Grand Master Award.


Back to the top of the page


This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.