Announcing the 2016 Bram Stoker Awards Nominees |

Announcing the 2016 Bram Stoker Awards Nominees

The Horror Writers Association are pleased to announce the 2016 Bram Stoker Awards Final Ballot. The presentation of the Bram Stoker Awards will take place during the second annual StokerCon, aboard the Queen Mary in Long Beach, California on the evening of April 29, 2017. Tickets to the banquet and the convention can be purchased here, and there will also be a live-stream of the event.

The nominees are as follows:

Superior Achievement in a Novel

  • Hard Light: A Cass Neary Crime Novel, Elizabeth Hand (Minotaur Books)
  • Mongrels, Stephen Graham Jones (William Morrow)
  • The Fisherman, John Langan (Word Horde)
  • Stranded: A Novel, Bracken MacLeod (Tor Books)
  • Disappearance at Devil’s Rock, Paul Tremblay (William Morrow)


Superior Achievement in a First Novel

  • Barnett, Barbara – The Apothecary’s Curse (Pyr Books)
  • Chapman, Greg – Hollow House (Omnium Gatherum Media)
  • Deady, Tom – Haven (Cemetery Dance Publications)
  • Garza, Michelle and Lason, Melissa – Mayan Blue (Sinister Grin Press)
  • Wytovich, Stephanie – The Eighth (Dark Regions Press)


Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel

  • Snowed, Maria Alexander, (Raw Dog Screaming Press)
  • Last Days of Salton Academy, Jennifer Brozek (Ragnarok Publishing)
  • Holding Smoke, Elle Cosimano (Hyperion-Disney)
  • When They Fade, Jeyn Roberts (Knopf Books for Young Readers)
  • The Telling, Alexandra Sirowy (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers)


Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel

  • Blood Feud, Cullen Bunn (Oni Press)
  • Kolchak the Night Stalker: The Forgotten Lore of Edgar Allan Poe, James Chambers (Moonstone)
  • No Mercy, Vol. 2, Alex de Campi (Image Comics)
  • Outcast by Kirkman & Azaceta, Vol 3 This Little Light, Robert Kirkman (Image Comics)
  • The Steam Man, Mark Alan Miller and Joe R. Lansdale (Dark Horse Books)
  • Providence, Act 1, Alan Moore (Avatar Press)


Superior Achievement in Long Fiction

  • The Sadist’s Bible, Nicole Cushing (01Publishing)
  • That Perilous Stuff , Scott Edelman (Chiral Mad 3) (Written Backwards)
  • The Ballad of Black Tom, Victor LaValle (
  • The Jupiter Drop, Josh Malerman (You, Human) (Dark Regions Press)
  • The Winter Box, Tim Waggoner (DarkFuse)


Superior Achievement in Short Fiction

  • “Time is a Face on the Water,” Michael Bailey (Borderlands 6) (Borderlands Press)
  • “A Rift in Reflection,” Hal Bodner (Chiral Mad 3) (Written Backwards)
  • “The Bad Hour (What the #@&% is That?),” Christopher Golden (Saga Press)
  • “ArbeitMacht Frei,” Lisa Mannetti (Gutted: Beautiful Horror Stories) (Crystal Lake Publishing)
  • “The Crawl Space,” Joyce Carol Oates (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine Volume #2016/Issue#8) (Dell Magazines)


Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection

  • Swift to Chase, Laird Barron (JournalStone)
  • A Long December, Richard Chizmar (Subterranean Press)
  • The Doll-Master and Other Tales of Terror, Joyce Carol Oates (Mysterious Press)
  • Lethal Birds, Gene O’Neill (Omnium Gatherum Media)
  • American Nocturne, Hank Schwaeble (Cohesion Press)


Superior Achievement in a Screenplay

  • 10 Cloverfield Lane Campbell, Josh Campbell, Damien Chazelle, and Matthew Stuecken (Paramount Pictures)
  • Stranger Things: “The Vanishing of Will Byers” (Episode 01: Chapter One) Matt Duffer and Ross Duffer (21 Laps Entertainment, Monkey Massacre)
  • Stranger Things: “The Upside Down” (Episode 01: Chapter Eight) Matt Duffer and Ross Duffer (21 Laps Entertainment, Monkey Massacre)
  • The VVitch, Robert Eggers (Parts and Labor, RT Features, Rooks Nest Entertainment, Code Red Productions, Scythia Films, Maiden Voyage Pictures, Mott Street Pictures, Pulse Films, and Very Special Projects)
  • Penny Dreadful: “A Blade of Grass,” John Logan (Episode 03:04) Showtime Presents in association with SKY, Desert Wolf Productions, Neal Street Productions)


Superior Achievement in an Anthology

  • Chiral Mad 3, Michael Bailey (Written Backwards)
  • The Beauty of Death, Alessandro Manzetti (Independent Legions Publishing)
  • Borderlands 6, Thomas F. Monteleone and Oliva F. Monteleone (Samhain Publishing, Ltd.)
  • Fright Mare-Women Write Horror, Billie Sue Mosiman (DM Publishing)
  • Gutted: Beautiful Horror Stories, Doug Murano and D. Alexander Ward (Crystal Lake Publishing)


Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction

  • Haunted: On Ghosts, Witches, Vampires, Zombies and Other Monsters of the Natural and Supernatural, Leo Braudy (Yale University Press)
  • Shirley Jackson: A Rather Haunted Life, Ruth Franklin (Liveright Publishing Corporation)
  • Guillermo del Toro’s “The Devil’s Backbone” and “Pan’s Labyrinth”: Studies in the Horror Film, Danel P. Olson (Centipede Press)
  • In the Mountains of Madness: The Life, Death and Extraordinary Afterlife of H. P. Lovecraft, W. Scott Poole (Soft Skull Press)
  • Something in the Blood: The Untold Story of Bram Stoker, the Man Who Wrote Dracula, David J. Skal (Liveright Publishing Corporation)
  • The Gothic Worlds of Peter Straub, John Tibbetts (McFarland)


Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection

  • Sacrificial Nights, Bruce Boston and Alessandro Manzetti (KippleOfficinaLibraria)
  • Corona Obscura: Poems Dark and Elemental, Michael R. Collings (self-published)
  • Field Guide to the End of the World: Poems, Jeannine Hall Gailey (Moon City Press)
  • Small Spirits, Marge Simon (Midnight Town Media)
  • Brothel, Stephanie M. Wytovich (Raw Dog Screaming Press)


You can find more information about the Bram Stoker Awards here. Congratulations to all the nominees!


Back to the top of the page

This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.