Voting is Open for the 2011 David Gemmell Legend Awards

The nominees for the 2011 David Gemmell Legend Awards have been announced and you can start voting now! Designed to promote awareness of the fantasy genre, the David Gemmell awards seek to recognize outstanding work in the professional fields of fantasy. This year, the prestigious ceremony will take place on June 17th at the Magic Circle in London. Tickets are available now and cost £20.

Head over to their website and vote!

Below is the short list for the three main categories:

Legend Award

The Alchemist in the Shadows – Pierre Pevel (Gollancz)
The Desert Spear – Peter V Brett (Voyager)
The Black Prism – Brent Weeks (Orbit)
The Way of Kings – Brandon Sanderson (Gollancz/Tor US)
Towers of Midnight – Brandon Sanderson & Robert Jordan (Orbit/Tor US)
The War of the Dwarves – Markus Heitz (Orbit)


Morningstar (Best Fantasy Debut)

Shadow Prowler – Alexey Pehov (Tor US)
The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms – N.K. Jemisin (Orbit)
Warrior Priest – Darius Hinks (Black Library)
Spellwright – Blake Charlton (Tor US)
Tymon”s Flight – Mary Victoria (Harper Collins Australia)


Ravenheart (Best Fantasy Artwork)

Todd Lockwood for The Ragged Man (Pyr edition)
Frank Victoria for Tymon”s Flight (Harper Collins Australia)
Jon Sullivan for Shadow King (Black Library)
Cliff Nielsen for The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms (Orbit)
Olof Erla Einarsdottir for Power & Majesty (Harper Collins Australia)

Stubby the Rocket is the mascot and general voice for


Back to the top of the page

1 Comment

This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.