Tue
Dec 18 2012 6:54pm

Dave McKean Reveals Artwork for Neil Gaiman’s The Ocean at the End of the Lane

Dave McKean Reveals Artwork for Neil Gaiman’s The Ocean at the End of the Lane

Dave McKean, frequent Neil Gaiman collaborator,  released a few “visual moments” from a special edition of  Gaiman’s upcoming novel The Ocean and the End of the Land...and it looks spectacular. 

 The Ocean at the End of the Lane comes out on June 18, 2013. Described as “a fable that reshapes modern fantasy,” Ocean’s story unfolds as follows:

It began for our narrator forty years ago, when the family lodger stole their car and committed suicide in it, stirring up ancient powers best left undisturbed.

His only defense are three women on a farm at the end of the lane. The youngest of them claims that her duckpond is ocean. The oldest can remember the Big Bang.

To quote Neil himself, “The Ocean at the End of the Lane is a novel of childhood and memory. It’s a story of magic, about the power of stories and how we face the darkness inside each of us. It’s about fear, and love, and death, and families. But, fundamentally, I hope, at its heart, it’s a novel about survival.”

5 comments
Sandman Brasil
1. Sandman Brasil
Great news for fans of Brazilian Neil Gaiman and Dave McKean!
Sandman Brasil
2. MadJack
Always a joy to see these two collaborate - so exciting!
Eliza-Rose Lartey
3. lerenardvert
Awh man! I said I woudn't get into this collab ever again because they always seems to amaze me- here I am, less than two weeks since my declaration, loving another piece of clearly fantastic work! Grrr
A.J. Bobo
4. Daedylus
Gaiman has said a few times that this isn't a kids book. After looking at McKean's art, I'm inclined to agree.
Sandman Brasil
5. Jean A
So glad I ordered this.

Subscribe to this thread

Receive notification by email when a new comment is added. You must be a registered user to subscribe to threads.
Post a comment