Zazie Beetz, Aaron Paul, and Josh Hartnett Are Among the Cast for Black Mirror Season 6

It’s been more than three years since Black Mirror‘s three-episode fifth season—but Netflix’s dystopian anthology series isn’t over. In May, news broke that a sixth season was in the works. Now, it’s one step closer with the announcement of nine new cast members, including Aaron Paul (Westworld) and Zazie Beetz (Deadpool 2).

Paul and Beetz are also joined by Paapa Essiedu (Men), Josh Hartnett (Penny Dreadful), Kate Mara (Fantastic Four), Danny Ramirez (The Falcon and the Winter Soldier), Clara Rugaard (The Rising), Auden Thornton (This Is Us), and Anjana Vasan (We Are Lady Parts). Naturally, there’s not a whisper of detail about any of the new characters or stories, but Variety notes, “This casting specifically spans three episodes, and it’s understood more actors will join up for further episodes of the show.”

The sixth season of Black Mirror will be the first since creator Charlie Brooker parted ways with his previous production company and, with creative partner Annabel Jones, set up a new production company called Broke and Bones. The rights to Black Mirror stayed with the old company for a time, until a deal was worked out that let Netflix license the rights. That probably accounts for at least some of the considerable wait between seasons—but hopefully that wait won’t go on too much longer. The show, Variety says, “is now believed to be in production.”

Eventually, Black Mirror will return to Netflix.


Back to the top of the page

This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.