Announcing the Shortlist for the 2022 Ignyte Awards |

Announcing the Shortlist for the 2022 Ignyte Awards

The Ignyte Awards, now in their third year, “seek to celebrate the vibrancy and diversity of the current and future landscape of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror by recognizing incredible feats in storytelling and outstanding efforts towards inclusivity within the genre.”

This year’s shortlist was selected by the 15 BIPOC+ voters of the Ignyte Awards Committee; everyone is welcome to vote for the winners, and can do so here until June 10th. Winners will be announced on September 17th.

Congrats to all the finalists!

Best Novel: Adult

for novel-length work (40k+ words) intended for an adult audience

Light from Uncommon Stars – Ryka Aoki (Tor Books)
The Unbroken – C. L. Clark (Orbit) 
A Master of Djinn
 – P. Djèlí Clark (Tordotcom)
Black Water Sister – Zen Cho (Ace Books)
Sorrowland – Rivers Solomon (MCD)

Best Novel: Young Adult

for novel-length (40k+ words) works intended for the young adult audience

The Wild Ones – Nafiza Azad (Margaret K. McElderry Books)
This Poison Heart – Kalynn Bayron (Bloomsbury YA)
Redemptor – Jordan Ifueko (Harry N. Abrams)
White Smoke  – Tiffany D. Jackson (Katherine Tegen Books)
A Snake Falls to Earth – Darcie Little Badger (Levine Querido)

Best in Middle Grade

for works intended for the middle grade audience

Amari and the Night Brothers – B.B. Alston (Balzer & Bray/Harperteen)
Josephine Against the Sea  –  Shakirah Bourne (Scholastic Inc.)
Tristan Strong Keeps Punching – Kwame Mbalia (Rick Riordan Presents)
The Insiders – Mark Oshiro (HarperCollins)
Root Magic – Eden Royce (Walden Pond Press)

Best Novella

for speculative works ranging from 17,500-39,999 words

Fireheart Tiger – Aliette de Bodard (Tordotcom)
Philia, Eros, Storge, Agápe, Pragma – R.S.A. Garcia (Clarkesworld)
Nothing But Blackened Teeth – Cassandra Khaw (Tor Nightfire)
And This is How to Stay Alive – Shingai Njeri Kagunda (Neon Hemlock)
Flowers for the Sea – Zin E. Rocklyn (Tordotcom)

Best Novelette

for speculative works ranging from 7,500-17,499 words

“The Badger’s Digestion; or The First First-Hand Description of Deneskan Beastcraft” by an Aouwan “Researcher” – Malka Older (Constelacion Magazine)
“The Equations of the Dead” – An Owomyela (Lightspeed Magazine)
“The Music of the Siphorophenes” – CL Polk (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction)
“The Future Library” – Peng Shepherd (Tordotcom)
“Colors of the Immortal Palette” – Caroline M. Yoachim (Uncanny)

Best Short Story

for speculative works ranging from 2,000-7,499 words

“The Fifth Horseman” – Martin Cahill (Fireside Fiction)
“If the Martians Have Magic” – P. Djèlí Clark (Uncanny Magazine)
“Delete Your First Memory for Free” – Kel Coleman (FIYAH Literary Magazine)
“The Tale of Jaja and Canti” – Tobi Ogundiran (Lightspeed)
“Center of the Universe” – Nadia Shammas (Strange Horizons)

Best in Speculative Poetry

“Appeal to the Doppelganger” – Terese Mason Pierre (Fantasy Magazine)
“Dragonslayer” – Priya Chand (Fantasy Magazine)
“Kuala Lumpur Urban Legends” – Jack Kin Lim (Strange Horizons)
“None of the Star Trek Ships Are Named After Confederate Generals” – Arden Eli Hill (Strange Horizons)
“Post-Massacre Psyche Eval” – Abu Bakr Sadiq (Uncanny Magazine)

Critics Award

for reviews and analysis of the field of speculative literature

Akilah White
Arley Sorg
Thistle & Verse
Alex Brown
Rich in Color

Best Fiction Podcast

for excellence in audio performance and production for speculative fiction

Escape Pod
Khōréō Magazine
Gallery of Curiosities

Best Artist

for contributions in visual speculative storytelling

Tommy Arnold
Paul Kellam
Morgan Madeline
John Picacio
Raymond Sebastien

Best Comics Team

for comics, graphic novels, and sequential storytelling

Abbott: 1973 – Saladin Ahmed & Sami Kivelä  (Boom! Studios)
Count – Ibrahim Moustafa, Brad Simpson, & Hassan Otsame-Elhaou (Humanoids, Inc.)
Nubia: Real One – L. L. McKinney & Robyn Smith (DC Comics)
Shadow Life – Hiromi Goto & Ann Xu (First Second)
Squad – Maggie Tokuda-Hall and Lisa Sterle (Green Willow Books)

Best Anthology/Collected Works

Midnight Doorways: Fables from Pakistan – Usman T. Malik (Kitab (Pvt) Ltd.)
Never Have I Ever – Isabel Yap (Small Beer Press)
Reconstruction: Stories – Alaya Dawn Johnson (Small Beer Press)
Speculative Fiction for Dreamers: A Latinx Anthology – Alex Hernandez, Matthew David Goodwin, & Sarah Rafael García, eds. (Mad Creek Books)
We’re Here: The Best Queer Speculative Fiction 2020 – C.L. Clark, Charles Payseur, eds. (Neon Hemlock)

Best Creative Nonfiction

for works related to the field of speculative fiction

“We Are the Mountain: A Look at the Inactive Protagonist” – Vida Cruz (Fantasy Magazine)
“Where Will You Place Us When We Are Dead?” – Monte Lin (Strange Horizons)
“What You Might Have Missed” – Arley Sorg (Uncanny Magazine)
“Round Table Palestinian Perspectives”– Fargo Tbakhi, N.A. Mansour, Rasha Abdulhadi (Strange Horizons)
“The Necessity of Slavery Stories” – Troy L. Wiggins (Uncanny Magazine)

The Ember Award

for unsung contributions to genre

Maurice Broaddus
Tananarive Due
Malinda Lo
Julia Rios
Sheree Renée Thomas

The Community Award

for Outstanding Efforts in Service of Inclusion and Equitable Practice in Genre

Anathema: Spec from the Margins – Michael Matheson, Andrew Wilmot, Chinelo Onwualu
dave ring
Khōréō Magazine – Aleksandra Hill, Founder & Editor-in-Chief and Team
The Submission Grinder – David Steffen
We Need Diverse Books


Back to the top of the page

This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.