Here Are the Finalists for the 2021 Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award

The Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction revealed the the finalists for this year’s Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award earlier this week!

The award comes from the Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction at Kansas University, and was established by the center’s founder, the late James Gunn. The award was first handed out in 1987, and seeks to honor the best short fiction published in the last year. The center assembles a jury of authors who take a look at a pile of nominations from reviewers, editors, readers, and the jurors themselves, and then whittle down the list to the final candidates.

Here’s the full list of finalists (linked where online):

The awards are usually presented during an event in the fall, although it’s unclear if that in-person event will take place this year: The center says that it will be announcing the winner of the award this fall. Last year’s winner was Suzanne Palmer, for her story, “Waterlines.”


Back to the top of the page

This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.