Announcing the Winners of the 33rd Annual Lambda Literary Awards

Last night, Lambda Literary held its virtual awards ceremony for its annual Lambda Literary Awards (known as the Lammys). The organization and award champions LGBTQ writers and literature—the awards have been going since 1989.

The Lammys are designed to “identify and celebrate the best lesbian and gay books in the year of their publication,” and include several dedicated genre categories.

The group announced its finalists for the award back in March, which included a handful of Tordotcom books like Zen Cho’s The Order of the Pure Moon Reflected in Water, and Nino Cipri’s Finna

This year’s awards were chosen by a panel of more than sixty industry professionals, who sifted through over a thousand submissions from more than three-hundred publishers. The winners were announced at last night’s virtual awards ceremony.

Here are the recipients that fall under the speculative fiction banner this year:

Gay Romance

  • The Ghost and Charlie Muir by Felice Stevens (Self-published)

LGBTQ Anthology

  • Love after the End: An Anthology of Two-Spirit and Indigiqueer Speculative Fiction edited by Joshua Whitehead (Arsenal Pulp Press)

LGBTQ Comics

  • Apsara Engine by Bishakh Som (Feminist Press)

LGBTQ Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror

  • Everyone on the Moon Is Essential Personnel: Stories by Julian K. Jarboe (Lethe Press)

You can see the full list of winners here.


Back to the top of the page

1 Comment

This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.