Announcing the 2020 World Fantasy Award Winners

This year’s World Fantasy Award winners were announced this past weekend during the virtual World Fantasy 2020 convention. Lifetime achievement awards were presented to Karen Joy Fowler and Rowena Morrill.

This year’s judges were Gwenda Bond, Galen Dara, Michael Kelly, Victor LaValle, and Adam Roberts. The winners are in bold below. Congratulations to all the finalists and winners!


  • Queen of the Conquered by Kacen Callender (Orbit)
  • The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow (Redhook Books)
  • The Raven Tower by Ann Leckie (Orbit)
  • Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir (Tordotcom Publishing)
  • The Memory Police by Yoko Ogawa (translated by Stephen Snyder) (Pantheon)


  • “The Butcher’s Table” by Nathan Ballingrud (Wounds: Six Stories From the Border of Hell, Saga Press)
  • Desdemona and the Deep by C.S.E. Cooney (Tordotcom Publishing)
  • In an Absent Dream by Seanan McGuire (Tordotcom Publishing)
  • The Deep by Rivers Solomon, with Daveed Diggs, William Hutson & Jonathan Snipes (Saga Press)
  • Silver in the Wood by Emily Tesh (Tordotcom Publishing)


  • For He Can Creep” by Siobhan Carroll (, July 10, 2019)
  • “Read After Burning” by Maria Dahvana Headley (A People’s Future of the United States)
  • “The Blur in the Corner of Your Eye” by Sarah Pinsker (Uncanny Magazine, July-Aug. 2019)
  • Blood Is Another Word for Hunger” by Rivers Solomon (, July 24, 2019)
  • “Postlude to the Afternoon of a Faun” by Jerome Stueart (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, Mar./Apr. 2019)
  • “Everyone Knows That They’re Dead. Do You?” by Genevieve Valentine (The Outcast Hours)


  • Echoes: The Saga Anthology of Ghost Stories, edited by Ellen Datlow (Saga Press)
  • New Suns: Original Speculative Fiction by People of Color, edited by Nisi Shawl (Solaris)
  • The Outcast Hours, edited by Mahvesh Murad & Jared Shurin (Solaris)
  • The Mythic Dream, edited by Dominik Parisien & Navah Wolfe (Saga Press)
  • The Big Book of Classic Fantasy, edited by Ann VanderMeer & Jeff VanderMeer (Vintage Books)


  • Homesick by Nino Cipri (Dzanc Books)
  • Song for the Unraveling of the World by Brian Evenson (Coffee House Press)
  • Unforeseen by Molly Gloss (Saga Press)
  • A Lush and Seething Hell by John Hornor Jacobs (Harper Voyager)
  • Sooner or Later Everything Falls into the Sea by Sarah Pinsker (Small Beer Press)


  • Tommy Arnold
  • Galen Dara
  • Julie Dillon
  • Wendy Froud
  • Kathleen Jennings


  • C.C. Finlay, for F&SF editing
  • Leslie Klinger, for The New Annotated H.P. Lovecraft: Beyond Arkham (Liveright)
  • Ellen Oh, for We Need Diverse Books
  • Ebony Elizabeth Thomas, for The Dark Fantastic: Race and the Imagination from Harry Potter to the Hunger Games (New York University Press)
  • Sheree Renée Thomas, for contributions to the genre


  • Bodhisattva Chattopadhyay, Laura E. Goodin & Esko Suoranta, for Fafnir – Nordic Journal of Science Fiction and Fantasy Research
  • Michael Kelly, for Undertow Publications and The Year’s Best Weird Fiction series
  • Jonathan Strahan & Gary K. Wolfe, for The Coode Street Podcast
  • Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas, for Uncanny Magazine
  • Terri Windling, for Myth & Moor


Back to the top of the page


This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.