Let LeVar Burton Read the Works of Neil Gaiman to You This Friday

As a balm for the self-isolation woes of bibliophiles the world over, LeVar Burton announced this week that he’ll be doing Twitter livestreams of his podcast LeVar Burton Reads every other weekday. First on the menu: the works of Neil Gaiman.

The author was one of many who offered up their stories when Burton asked Twitter to suggest reading selections for the live-stream. While the former Reading Rainbow host originally planned to “avoid legal complications” by sticking to short stories in the public domain, Gaiman gave him “blanket permission” to use any of his stories.

Others who replied included Cory Doctorow, Mary Robinette Kowal, Ellen Klages, Ari Marmell, Diane Duane, Vylar Kaftan, and many more.

As Burton announced, the LeVar Burton Reads Twitter live-streams will begin on Friday, April 3, with “a selection” of Gaiman’s works. Although the host did not reveal which short stories he’ll read, he did specify that Fridays he’ll be reading adult fiction with the livestream beginning at at 6 pm PT/9 pm ET. Monday readings will feature children’s fiction at 9 am PT/12 pm ET, and Wednesdays will be for young adult stories at 3 pm PT/6 pm ET.

Burton has yet to announce a line-up of authors for future live-streams.

citation

Back to the top of the page

3 Comments

Subscribe to this thread

Post a Comment

All comments must meet the community standards outlined in Tor.com's Moderation Policy or be subject to moderation. Thank you for keeping the discussion, and our community, civil and respectful.

Hate the CAPTCHA? Tor.com members can edit comments, skip the preview, and never have to prove they're not robots. Join now!

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.