Tade Thompson, Tochi Onyebuchi, and More Amongst the Winners of the 2018 NOMMO Awards

The winners of the 2018 Nommo Awards were announced on Friday, October 26 at the Ake Festival in Lagos, Nigeria. Congratulations to the nominees and winners, and congratulations to Tade Thompson for receiving the Best Novella Award for his captivating and addictive horror story The Murders of Molly Southborne, out from Tor.com Publishing!

Members of the African Speculative Fiction Society voted on the awards based on a Short List of nominees announced in April of this year. The Nommo Awards recognize works of speculative fiction by Africans, defined as “science fiction, fantasy, stories of magic and traditional belief, alternative histories, horror and strange stuff that might not fit in anywhere else.”

The nominees, with winners in bold:



 Short Story

  • “On the Other Side of the Sea,” Nerine Dorman
  • “A Door Ajar, ” Sibongile Fisher
  • “Read Before Use,” Chinelo Onwualu
  • “Snake Story,” Henrietta Rose-Innes
  • “The Regression Test,” Wole Talabi

Graphic Novel


Back to the top of the page

This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.