Revealing Sarah Gailey’s Debut Novel Magic for Liars

We’re excited to share the cover for Magic for Liars, a darkly enchanting debut novel from Hugo Award-winning author Sarah Gailey, author of the American Hippo novella duology.

Ivy Gamble was born without magic and never wanted it.

Ivy Gamble has an almost-sustainable career as a private investigator, and an empty apartment, and a slight drinking problem. She doesn’t in any way wish she was like Tabitha, her estranged, magically gifted twin sister.

Ivy Gamble is a liar.

Magic for Liars publishes June 2019 from Tor Books, in the tradition of SyFy’s The Magicians and perfect for fans of Megan Abbott, set at a private academy for mages hidden in modern-day Northern California.

Cover design by Will Staehle

Hugo Award winner and Campbell finalist Sarah Gailey came onto the scene in 2015 and has since become one of the sharpest, funniest voices in pop culture online. Gailey is a regular contributor for multiple websites, including Tor.com, where their Women of Harry Potter series was named a Hugo Finalist for Best Related Work. Gailey’s nonfiction has appeared in Mashable and The Boston Globe, and Gailey’s fiction has been published internationally.

citation

0 Comments

Subscribe to this thread

Post a Comment

All comments must meet the community standards outlined in Tor.com's Moderation Policy or be subject to moderation. Thank you for keeping the discussion, and our community, civil and respectful.

Hate the CAPTCHA? Tor.com members can edit comments, skip the preview, and never have to prove they're not robots. Join now!

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.