Revealing the New Seanan McGuire Wayward Children Book: In An Absent Dream Publishing is excited to reveal In An Absent Dream, the next book in Seanan McGuire’s Wayward Children series!

In an Absent Dream is the 4th book in Seanan McGuire’s Wayward Children series. 4th book written, that is. As with most of the books in this series, In an Absent Dream can be read completely out of written order, if you wish.

It tells the tale of Lundy, a very serious young girl, who walked through a door when she was eight, and walked back when her quest was finished. Though it wasn’t to be the only time she walked through and experienced the Goblin Market, where Fair Value determines not only how much you give for something, but also how much is taken from you…

And if Lundy ended up paying more than she expected? Well, that’s Fair Value, too.

This is another absolutely delightful book by Seanan, and–like the previous volumes–it will be beautifully illustrated internally by Rovina Cai, who’s already hard at work on the art

Seanan on the inspiration behind In An Absent Dream:

When I wrote Every Heart a Doorway, I knew I needed to populate the school with people whose experience paralleled Nancy’s without duplicating it, people who had found their own doors and then lost them. Some of them turned bitter in the aftermath of their adventures. Some of them turned cruel. Some of them never lost hope. I fell in love with each and every one of those characters, even the awful ones, in the process of writing Nancy’s story, because I knew why they were the way they were. I knew how they shattered, and how they put themselves back together.

One of the greatest privileges of this series has been having the opportunity to go back and show how those stories went. With In An Absent Dream, I get to follow Lundy to the Goblin Market, and show how she became the woman we met in the first volume, bitter, broken, and trapped in a body that was slipping further away from her true self with every passing day. I loved Lundy from the beginning. I hope that this will help you learn to love her too.

And because we know you (and we) can’t get enough of these books, we’re delighted to be able to tell you that following In an Absent Dream there will be at least another 4 standalone Wayward Children stories!

In an Absent Dream will be published in January 2019, followed by a fifth book Come Tumbling Down about one year later.


Book 1: Every Heart a Doorway

Every Heart a Doorway Seanan McGuire


Book 2: Down Among the Sticks and Bones

Down Among the Sticks and Bones Seanan McGuire


Book 3: Beneath the Sugar Sky

Beneath the Sugar Sky Seanan McGuire


Book 4: In an Absent Dream

Coming January 2019!


Back to the top of the page


This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.