Announcing the 2017 British Fantasy Award Winners

The winners of the 2017 British Fantasy Awards were announced during a ceremony FantasyCon 2017 on Sunday, October 1st in Peterborough, UK. Congratulations to all the nominees and winners!

(Including…! Hooray!)

Members of the British Fantasy Society and FantasyCon nominate up to 6 finalists in each category, which are then voted on by a select jury.

The British Fantasy Special Award is known as the Karl Edward Wagner Award. The Award may be presented to individuals or organisations. The Award may go to someone who has made an important contribution to the genre or the Society throughout his/her lifetime; or it may go to the organisers of a special event or publication that took place in the relevant year.


The nominees, with winners in bold:

The Karl Edward Wagner Award (Special Award)
Jan Edwards

Best Newcomer

Erica L Satifka, for Stay Crazy (Apex Book Company)
James Bennett, for Chasing Embers (Orbit)
Daniel Godfrey, for New Pompeii (Titan Books)
Phil Sloman, for Becoming David (Hersham Horror)
Martin Owton, for Exile (Tickety Boo Press)

Best Magazine / Periodical
Black Static

Ginger Nuts of Horror
Uncanny Magazine

Best Non-fiction

The Geek Feminist Revolution, Kameron Hurley (Tor)
Blood Spectrum,
 Gary Couzens (Black Static Magazine)
Ginger Nuts of Horror, ed. Jim McLeod
This Spectacular Darkness, Joel Lane, ed. Mark Valentine (Tartarus Press)
The Women of Harry Potter series, Sarah Gailey (
Words are my Matter: Writings about Life and Books, 2000-2016, Ursula K Le Guin (Small Beer Press)

Best Comic / Graphic Novel

Monstress, Vol 1: Awakening – Marjorie Liu & Sana Takeda (Image Comics)
 (progs 1963-2011) ed. Matt Smith (2000 AD Graphic Novels)
Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat! (#2-13) – Kate Leth & Brittney Williams (Marvel Comics)
Saga (#33-40) – Brian K Vaughan & Fiona Staples (Image Comics)
Sixpack and Dogwelder: Hard Travelin’ Heroz (#1-5) – Garth Ennis & Russ Braun (DC Comics)
Skal (Chapter 3, pages 1-19) – Jennie Gyllblad

Best Independent Press

Grimbold Press
Alchemy Press
Fox Spirit Books
NewCon Press
TTA Press

Best Artist

Daniele Serra
Ben Baldwin
Evelinn Enoksen
Sarah Anne Langton

Best Anthology

People of Colour Destroy Science Fiction ed. Lightspeed Magazine
Asian Monsters
 ed. Margrét Helgadóttir (Fox Spirit Books)
Dead Letters ed. Conrad Williams (Titan Books)
Fight Like a Girl ed. Joanne Hall & Roz Clarke (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
The Starlit Wood: New Fairy Tales ed. Dominik Larisien & Navah Wolfe (Saga Press)
Something Remains ed. Peter Coleborn and Pauline E Dungate (Alchemy Press)

Best Collection

Some Will Not Sleep – Adam L G Nevill (Ritual Limited)
The Parts We Play
 – Stephen Volk (PS Publishing)
Secret Language – Neil Williamson (NewCon Press)
Sharp Ends – Joe Abercrombie (Gollancz)
A Tiding of Magpies – Pete Sutton (KGHH/Kensington Gore Hammered Horror)
The Unheimlich Menoeuvre – Tracy Fahey (Boo Books)

Best Film / Television Production

Black Mirror series 3
Captain America: Civil War
High Rise

Best Novella

The Ballad of Black Tom – Victor LaValle ( Publishing)
Arrival of Missives
 – Aliya Whiteley (Unsung Stories)
Bodies of Water – VH Leslie (Salt Publishing)
Every Heart a Doorway – Seanan McGuire ( Publishing)
The Grieving Stones – Gary McMahon (Horrific Tales Publishing)
Hammers on Bone – Cassandra Khaw ( Publishing)

Best Short Fiction

“White Rabbit” – Georgina Bruce (Black Static 50 – Jan/Feb 2016)
“Charmed Life” – Simon Avery (Something Remains: Joel Lane and Friends, ed. Peter Coleborn and Pauline E. Dungate)
“Greenteeth” – Gary Budden (Black Static 50 – Jan/Feb 2016)
“The Watcher” – Sammy HK Smith (The Book of Angels by AJ Dalton)
“Waxy” – Camilla Grudova (Granta)
“The Women’s Song” – Nadine West

Best Horror Novel

Disappearance at Devil’s Rock – Paul Tremblay (Titan Books)
13 Minutes
 – Sarah Pinborough (Gollancz)
The Hidden People – Alison Littlewood (Jo Fletcher Books)
The Searching Dead – Ramsey Campbell (PS Publishing)

Best Fantasy Novel

The Tiger and the Wolf – Adrian Tchaikovsky (Pan)
The High King’s Vengeance
 – Steven Poore (Kristell Ink, Grimbold Books)
The Silver Tide – Jen Williams (Headline)
The Summer Goddess – Joanne Hall (Kristell Ink, Grimbold Books)


Back to the top of the page


This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.