Revealing Sam Hawke’s City of Lies

We’re pleased to share the cover for City of Lies, an amazing epic fantasy debut perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Naomi Novik. The first book in author Sam Hawke’s Poison Wars series, City of Lies is a tale of poisoners, deceit, and treachery. Find out more about the novel and check out the full cover illustration by Greg Ruth below!

Robin Hobb herself says: “If the first line doesn’t make you buy this book, you should turn in your fantasy-lover’s badge. City of Lies got me through sitting seven hours in an airport, and proves that a tale about the one who risks his life to thwart assassins can be as compelling as any assassin’s tale.”

City of Lies publishes July 2018 with Tor Books. From the catalog copy:

I was seven years old the first time my uncle poisoned me…

Outwardly, Jovan is the lifelong friend of the Chancellor’s charming, irresponsible Heir. Quiet. Forgettable. In secret, he’s a master of poisons and chemicals, trained to protect the Chancellor’s family from treachery. When the Chancellor succumbs to an unknown poison and an army lays siege to the city, Jovan and his sister Kalina must protect the Heir and save their city-state.

But treachery lurks in every corner, and the ancient spirits of the land are rising… and angry.

6 Comments

Subscribe to this thread

Post a Comment

All comments must meet the community standards outlined in Tor.com's Moderation Policy or be subject to moderation. Thank you for keeping the discussion, and our community, civil and respectful.

Hate the CAPTCHA? Tor.com members can edit comments, skip the preview, and never have to prove they're not robots. Join now!