Presenting Beneath the Sugar Sky, the Third Book of Seanan McGuire’s Wayward Children Series

On January 9, 2018, Beneath the Sugar Sky, the third book in Seanan McGuire’s Wayward Children series, returns to Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children in a standalone contemporary fantasy for fans of all ages. At this magical boarding school, children who have experienced fantasy adventures are reintroduced to the “real” world.

When Rini lands with a literal splash in the pond behind Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children, the last thing she expects to find is that her mother, Sumi, who died years before Rini was even conceived. But Rini can’t let Reality get in the way of her quest—not when she has an entire world to save! (Much more common than one would suppose.)

If she can’t find a way to restore her mother, Rini will have more than a world to save: she will never have been born in the first place. And in a world without magic, she doesn’t have long before Reality notices her existence and washes her away. Good thing the student body is well-acquainted with quests…

Beneath the Sugar Sky is a tale of friendship, baking, and derring-do.

Warning: May contain nuts.

Beneath the Sugar Sky Seanan McGuire


The Wayward Children series kicked off in April 2016 with the Hugo and Nebula Award-nominated Every Heart a Doorway. and continues on June 13 with Down Among the Sticks and Bones, which reveals how Jack and Jill ended up in their particular portal fantasy world…and how they got kicked out.

Wayward Children Seanan McGuire series

Down Among the Sticks and Bones and Beneath the Sugar Sky continues the series’ passion for representing worlds and people of every kind. Each volume can be read by itself, but reading the whole series and figuring out how the worlds interconnect is half the fun!


Wayward Children by Seanan McGuire


Back to the top of the page


This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.