Seanan McGuire Signs Up for Three More Novellas

Last year’s Every Heart a Doorway proved to be a resounding success! A winner of the 2017 ALA Alex Award (which recognise adult books that are suitable for teen readers), Every Heart a Doorway is the first book in an exciting new series from Seanan McGuire, introducing us to the boarders at Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children—young men and women who have returned home from magical adventures only to find themselves unsuited for “normal” life.

NPR described the novella as “A mini-masterpiece of portal fantasy that deserves to be shelved with Lewis Carroll’s and C. S. Lewis’ classics”, and iO9 said it’s “So mindblowingly good, it hurts.”

We are delighted to be able to announce that we’ve recently agreed to buy another three novellas from McGuire, including at least one new Wayward Children story!

Seanan said:

“This is the best thing ever.  I get to keep telling stories about my imaginary friends, and it’s fantastic.  Plus my editor bribes me with shower gel, which isn’t as weird as it sounds.  Okay.  Maybe it’s as weird as it sounds.”

Her editor, Lee Harris, declined to comment.

This brings the total number of Seanan McGuire novellas to seven, in addition to the first three in the Wayward Children series and her recent standalone urban fantasy, Dusk or Dark or Dawn or Day. The second Wayward Children book, Down Among the Sticks and Bones will be published in June, followed by Beneath the Sugar Sky in January of next year. Each book can be read as part of the series, or as standalone novellas.


Back to the top of the page


This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.