Announcing the 2015 World Fantasy Winners!

The winners of the 2015 World Fantasy Awards have been announced! Check below the cut for a full list of nominees and winners in each category. The awards were given at this year’s World Fantasy Convention, held in Saratoga Springs, NY. The judges included Gemma Files, Nina Kiriki Hoffman, Bénédicte Lombardo, Bruce McAllister, and Robert Shearman. This year’s Lifetime Achievement Award recipients are Ramsey Campbell and Sheri S. Tepper.

Congratulations to all the winners and nominees!

Winners appear in bold.



  • Winner: The Bone Clocks, David Mitchell (Random House; Sceptre)
  • The Goblin Emperor, Katherine Addison (Tor)
  • City of Stairs, Robert Jackson Bennett (Broadway; Jo Fletcher)
  • Area X: The Southern Reach Trilogy, Jeff VanderMeer (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)
  • My Real Children, Jo Walton (Tor; Corsair)


  • Winner: We Are All Completely Fine, Daryl Gregory (Tachyon)
  • Where the Trains Turn,” Pasi Ilmari Jääskeläinen, Translated by  Liisa Rantalaiho ( 11/19/14)
  • “Hollywood North,” Michael Libling (F&SF 11-12/14)
  • The Mothers of Voorhisville,” Mary Rickert ( 4/30/14)
  • “Grand Jeté (The Great Leap),” Rachel Swirsky (Subterranean Summer ’14)
  • The Devil in America,” Kai Ashante Wilson (, 4/2/14)

Short Fiction

  • Winner:  Do You Like to Look at Monsters?, Scott Nicolay (Fedogan & Bremer)
  • “I Can See Right Through You,” Kelly Link, (McSweeney’s 48)
  • “Death’s Door Café,” Kaaron Warren (Shadows & Tall Trees 2014)
  • “The Fisher Queen,” Alyssa Wong (F&SF 5-6/14)


  • Winner: Monstrous Affections, Kelly Link & Gavin J. Grant, ed. (Candlewick)
  • Fearful Symmetries, Ellen Datlow, ed. (ChiZine)
  • Long Hidden: Speculative Fiction from the Margins of History, Rose Fox & Daniel José Older, eds. (Crossed Genres)
  • Shadows & Tall Trees 2014, Michael Kelly, ed. (Undertow)
  • Rogues, George R.R. Martin & Gardner Dozois, eds. (Bantam; Titan)


  • Winner: Gifts for the One Who Comes After, Helen Marshall (ChiZine)
  • WinnerThe Bitterwood Bible and Other Recountings, Angela Slatter (Tartarus)
  • Mercy and Other Stories, Rebecca Lloyd (Tartarus)
  • They Do the Same Things Different There, Robert Shearman (ChiZine)
  • Death at the Blue Elephant, Janeen Webb (Ticonderoga)


  • Winner: Samuel Araya
  • Galen Dara
  • Jeffrey Alan Love
  • Erik Mohr
  • John Picacio

Special Award – Professional

  • Winner: Sandra Kasturi & Brett Alexander Savory, for ChiZine Publications
  • John Joseph Adams, for editing anthologies and Nightmare and Fantasy magazines
  • Jeanne Cavelos, for Odyssey writing workshops
  • Gordon Van Gelder, for F&SF
  • Jerad Walters, for Centipede Press

Special Award – Nonprofessional

  • Winner: Ray B. Russell & Rosalie Parker, for Tartarus Press
  • Scott H. Andrews, for Beneath Ceaseless Skies
  • Matt Cardin, for Born to Fear: Interviews with Thomas Ligotti (Subterranean)
  • Stefan Fergus, for Civilian Reader (
  • Patrick Swenson, for Fairwood Press


Back to the top of the page

1 Comment

This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.