Announcing the 2014 Bram Stoker Award Winners

The Horror Writers Association, the premier organization of writers and publishers of horror and dark fantasy, announced the winners of the 2014 Bram Stoker Award® during the World Horror Convention on May 9. The winners included Ellen Datlow, Jonathan Maberry, Usman T. Malik, and more.

“The past year had its challenges,” said HWA President Lisa Morton, referring to the passing of her predecessor Rocky Wood in 2014. “But on a night like this, we are reminded of the amazing talent in horror. The men and women honored tonight helped make 2014 an extraordinary year for the horror genre.”

Morton also announced the launch of StokerCon, an annual horror convention presented by the HWA. “When the HWA formed thirty years ago, the organization was small,” she said. “Over the last three decades, we’ve witnessed an explosive growth in horror. It seemed only natural for the premier association of horror writers and publishers to found what we believe will become the world’s premier horror convention.” The first StokerCon will take place May 12-15, 2016 in Las Vegas, Nevada, with author R.L. Stine listed as one of the Guests of Honor.

The HWA also presents a Lifetime Achievement Award to living individuals who have made a substantial and enduring contribution to the genre. This year’s Lifetime Achievement recipients are Jack Ketchum and Tanith Lee.

The full list of winners is below. Congratulations to all of the nominees and winners!

Superior Achievement in a Novel

  • Winner: Steve Rasnic Tem—Blood Kin (Solaris Books)
  • Craig DiLouie—Suffer the Children (Gallery Books of Simon & Schuster)
  • Patrick Freivald—Jade Sky (JournalStone)
  • Chuck Palahniuk—Beautiful You (Jonathan Cape, Vintage/Penguin Random House UK)
  • Christopher Rice—The Vines (47North)

Superior Achievement in a First Novel

  • Winner: Maria Alexander—Mr. Wicker (Raw Dog Screaming Press)
  • J.D. Barker—Forsaken (Hampton Creek Press)
  • David Cronenberg—Consumed (Scribner)
  • Michael Knost—Return of the Mothman (Woodland Press)
  • Josh Malerman—Bird Box (Harper Collins)

Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel

  • Winner: John Dixon—Phoenix Island (Simon & Schuster/Gallery Books)
  • Jake Bible—Intentional Haunting (Permuted Press)
  • Kami Garcia—Unmarked (The Legion Series Book 2) (Little Brown Books for Young Readers)
  • Tonya Hurley—Passionaries (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers)
  • Peter Adam Salomon—All Those Broken Angels (Flux)

Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel

  • Winner: Jonathan Maberry—Bad Blood (Dark Horse Books)
  • Emily Carroll—Through the Woods (Margaret K. McElderry Books)
  • Joe Hill—Locke and Key, Vol. 6 (IDW Publishing)
  • Joe R. Lansdale and Daniele Serra—I Tell You It’s Love (Short, Scary Tales Publications)
  • Paul Tobin—The Witcher (Dark Horse Books)

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction

  • Winner: Joe R. Lansdale—“Fishing for Dinosaurs” (Limbus, Inc., Book II) (JournalStone)
  • Taylor Grant—“The Infected” (Cemetery Dance #71) (Cemetery Dance)
  • Eric J. Guignard—“Dreams of a Little Suicide” (Hell Comes to Hollywood II: Twenty-Two More Tales of Tinseltown Terror (Volume 2)) (Big Time Books)
  • Jonathan Maberry—“Three Guys Walk into a Bar” (Limbus, Inc., Book II) (JournalStone)
  • Joe McKinney—“Lost and Found” (Limbus, Inc., Book II) (JournalStone)

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction

  • Winner Tie: Usman T. Malik—“The Vaporization Enthalpy of a Peculiar Pakistani Family” (Qualia Nous) (Written Backwards)
  • Winner Tie: Rena Mason—“Ruminations” (Qualia Nous) (Written Backwards)
  • Hal Bodner—“Hot Tub” (Hell Comes to Hollywood II: Twenty-Two More Tales of Tinseltown Terror (Volume 2)) (Big Time Books)
  • Sydney Leigh—“Baby’s Breath” (Bugs: Tales That Slither, Creep, and Crawl) (Great Old Ones Publishing)
  • John Palisano—“Splinterette” (Widowmakers: A Benefit Anthology of Dark Fiction) (Widowmaker Press)
  • Damien Angelica Walters—“The Floating Girls: A Documentary” (Jamais Vu, Issue Three) (Post Mortem Press)

Superior Achievement in a Screenplay

  • Winner: Jennifer Kent—The Babadook (Causeway Films)
  • Scott M. Gimple—The Walking Dead: “The Grove”, episode 4:14 (AMC)
  • John Logan—Penny Dreadful: “Séance” (Desert Wolf Productions/Neal Street Productions)
  • Steven Moffat—Doctor Who: “Listen” (British Broadcasting Corporation)
  • James Wong—American Horror Story: Coven: “The Magical Delights of Stevie Nicks” (FX Network)

Superior Achievement in an Anthology

  • Winner: Ellen Datlow—Fearful Symmetries (ChiZine Publications)
  • Michael Bailey—Qualia Nous (Written Backwards)
  • Jason V Brock—A Darke Phantastique (Cycatrix Press)
  • Chuck Palahniuk, Richard Thomas, and Dennis Widmyer—Burnt Tongues (Medallion Press)
  • Brett J. Talley—Limbus, Inc., Book II (JournalStone)

Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection

  • Winner: Lucy Snyder—Soft Apocalypses (Raw Dog Screaming Press)
  • Stephen Graham Jones—After the People Lights Have Gone Off (Dark House Press)
  • John R. Little—Little by Little (Bad Moon Books)
  • Helen Marshall—Gifts for the One Who Comes After (ChiZine Publications)
  • John F.D. Taff—The End in All Beginnings (Grey Matter Press)

Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction

  • Winner: Lucy Snyder—Shooting Yourself in the Head For Fun and Profit: A Writer’s Survival Guide (Post Mortem Press)
  • Jason V Brock—Disorders of Magnitude (Rowman & Littlefield)
  • S.T. Joshi—Lovecraft and a World in Transition (Hippocampus Press)
  • Leslie S. Klinger—The New Annotated H.P. Lovecraft (Liveright Publishing Corp., a division of W.W. Norton & Co.)
  • Joe Mynhardt and Emma Audsley—Horror 101: The Way Forward (Crystal Lake Publishing)

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection

  • Winner: Tom Piccirilli—Forgiving Judas (Crossroad Press)
  • Robert Payne Cabeen—Fearworms: Selected Poems (Fanboy Comics)
  • Corrinne De Winter and Alessandro Manzetti—Venus Intervention (Kipple Officina Libraria)
  • Marge Simon and Mary Turzillo—Sweet Poison (Dark Renaissance Books)
  • Stephanie Wytovich—Mourning Jewelry (Raw Dog Screaming Press)


Back to the top of the page

This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.