Announcing the 2015 European Science Fiction Society Award Winners

The European Science Fiction Society announced the winners of the 2015 ESFS Awards on April 26 at Eurocon in St. Petersburg, Russia. Eugene Lukin was named European Grandmaster at the ceremony, which honored those who have made an impact outside of their country. Among the honorees were author China Miéville and contributor Liz Bourke!

Here’s the full list of winners:

Hall of Fame

  • Best Author: China Miéville (United Kingdom)
  • Best Artist: Manchu (France)
  • Best Magazine: Fantastica Almanac (Bulgaria)
  • Best Publisher: Gollancz (United Kingdom)
  • Best Promoter: Mihaela Marija Perković (Croatia)
  • Best Translator: Ekaterina Dobrohotova-Majkova (Russia)

Spirit of Dedication Awards

  • Best Artist: Serhiy Krykun (Ukraine)
  • Best Fanzine: Pritiazhenie (Russia)
  • Best Website: Europa SF (Romania)
  • Best Dramatic Presentation: Song of the Sea (Ireland)
  • Best Creator of Children’s Science Fiction or Fantasy Books: Anton Lomaev* (Russia) and Ruth F. Long* (Ireland)

*A tie occurred and both creators are awarded.

Encouragement Awards

  • Micheal Wozoning (Austria)
  • Kaloyan Zahariev (Bulgaria)
  • David Kelecic (Croatia)
  • Martin D. Antonin (Czech Republic)
  • Liz Bourke (Ireland)
  • Luis Corredoura (Portugal)
  • Georgiana Vladulescu (Romania)
  • Victor Kolyuzhniak (Russia)
  • Jana Plauchová (Slovakia)

Congratulations to all of the winners!


Back to the top of the page


Subscribe to this thread

Post a Comment

All comments must meet the community standards outlined in's Moderation Policy or be subject to moderation. Thank you for keeping the discussion, and our community, civil and respectful.

Hate the CAPTCHA? members can edit comments, skip the preview, and never have to prove they're not robots. Join now!

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.