Mistborn Fans Will Get TWO New Novels Next Year!

Tor Books is eye-wideningly excited to announce that TWO new Mistborn novels by Brandon Sanderson will be released in late 2015 and early 2016!

The novels will continue Wax and Wayne’s adventures in the world of Mistborn, a series begun by 2011’s The Alloy of Law, which was itself a short story that just kept growing and growing until, well, until it grew into a series of novels!

Sanderson was already hard at work on the follow-up novel to Alloy of Law, when something unexpected happened. Tor Books editor Moshe Feder explains:

If there’s one thing we’ve learned in ten years of working with Brandon, it’s that he almost always delivers more than we’ve asked for and that he loves to surprise us.

We were awaiting the arrival of the previously-announced sequel to The Alloy of Law called Shadows of Self when he did it again, presenting us with not just one newborn novel, but twins! The surprise package was the third Wax & Wayne adventure, Bands of Mourning. The resulting atmosphere around the office was a heady combination of Christmas morning and the first night of Chanukah.

Sanderson later explained through a Twitter chat with iBooks how the extra novel came about:

(Mistborn book #6 is Bands of Mourning)

Brandon also revealed the plan for Wax and Wayne.

You can read the details at length over on Brandon’s blog.

Shadows of Self, the second book in the Wax and Wayne Mistborn series, is currently scheduled to arrive on shelves and ereaders in October 2015, followed by Bands of Mourning in January 2016. Tor Books and Tor.com will announce precise release dates as soon as we have them!

You can pre-order Shadows of Self right now.


Back to the top of the page


This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.