Announcing the 2014 British Fantasy Awards Winners

The winners of the British Fantasy Awards 2014, as announced on Sunday, 7 September 2014, at the awards banquet at FantasyCon 2014 in York. The nominees in each category were decided by the voters of the British Fantasy Society, FantasyCon 2012 and FantasyCon 2014, with the juries having a discretion to add up to two further egregious omissions in each category.

Best fantasy novel (the Robert Holdstock Award):

  • Winner: A Stranger in Olondria, Sofia Samatar (Small Beer Press)
  • Between Two Thorns, Emma Newman (Angry Robot)
  • Blood and Feathers: Rebellion, Lou Morgan (Solaris)
  • The Glass Republic, Tom Pollock (Jo Fletcher Books)
  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane, Neil Gaiman (Headline)

Best horror novel (the August Derleth Award):

  • Winner: The Shining Girls, Lauren Beukes (HarperCollins)
  • House of Small Shadows, Adam Nevill (Pan)
  • Mayhem, Sarah Pinborough (Jo Fletcher Books)
  • NOS4R2, Joe Hill (Gollancz)
  • Path of Needles, Alison Littlewood (Jo Fletcher Books)
  • The Year of the Ladybird, Graham Joyce (Gollancz)


Best novella:

  • Winner: Beauty, Sarah Pinborough (Gollancz)
  • Dogs With Their Eyes Shut, Paul Meloy (PS Publishing)
  • Spin, Nina Allan (TTA Press)
  • Vivian Guppy and the Brighton Belle, Nina Allan (Rustblind and Silverbright)
  • Whitstable, Stephen Volk (Spectral Press)


Best short story:

  • Winner: Signs of the Times, Carole Johnstone (Black Static #33)
  • Chalk, Pat Cadigan (This Is Horror)
  • Death Walks En Pointe, Thana Niveau (The Burning Circus)
  • Family Business, Adrian Tchaikovsky (The Alchemy Press Book of Urban Mythic)
  • The Fox, Conrad Williams (This Is Horror)
  • Golden Apple, Sophia McDougall (The Lowest Heaven)
  • Moonstruck, Karin Tidbeck (Shadows & Tall Trees #5)

Best anthology:

  • Winner: End of the Road, Jonathan Oliver (ed.) (Solaris)
  • Fearie Tales, Stephen Jones (ed.) (Jo Fletcher Books)
  • Rustblind and Silverbright, David Rix (ed.) (Eibonvale Press)
  • Tales of Eve, Mhairi Simpson (ed.) (Fox Spirit Books)
  • The Tenth Black Book of Horror, Charles Black (ed.) (Mortbury Press)


Best collection:

  • Winner: Monsters in the Heart, Stephen Volk (Gray Friar Press)
  • For Those Who Dream Monsters, Anna Taborska (Mortbury Press)
  • Holes for Faces, Ramsey Campbell (Dark Regions Press)
  • North American Lake Monsters, Nathan Ballingrud (Small Beer Press)


Best small press:

  • Winner: The Alchemy Press (Peter Coleborn)
  • The Alchemy Press (Peter Coleborn)
  • Fox Spirit Books (Adele Wearing)
  • NewCon Press (Ian Whates)
  • Spectral Press


Best comic/graphic novel:

Winner: Demeter, Becky Cloonan
Jennifer Wilde, Maura McHugh, Karen Mahoney and Stephen Downey (Atomic Diner Comics)
Porcelain, Benjamin Read and Chris Wildgoose (Improper Books)
Rachel Rising, Terry Moore (Abstract Studio)
Saga, Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples (Image Comics)
The Unwritten, Mike Carey and Peter Gross (Vertigo)

Best artist:

  • Winner: Joey Hi-Fi
  • Adam Oehlers
  • Ben Baldwin
  • Daniele Serra
  • Tula Lotay
  • Vincent Chong


Best non-fiction:

  • Winner: Speculative Fiction 2012, Justin Landon and Jared Shurin (eds) (Jurassic London)
  • Gestalt Real-Time Reviews, D.F. Lewis
  • Doors to Elsewhere, Mike Barrett (The Alchemy Press)
  • Fantasy Faction, Marc Aplin (ed.)
  • “We Have Always Fought”: Challenging the “Women, Cattle and Slaves” Narrative, Kameron Hurley (A Dribble of


Best magazine/periodical:

  • Winner: Clarkesworld, Neil Clarke, Sean Wallace and Kate Baker (ed.) (Wyrm Publishing)
  • Black Static, Andy Cox (ed.) (TTA Press)
  • Clarkesworld, Neil Clarke, Sean Wallace and Kate Baker (eds) (Wyrm Publishing)
  • Interzone, Andy Cox (ed.) (TTA Press)
  • Shadows & Tall Trees, Michael Kelly (ed.) (Undertow Books)


Best film/television episode:

  • Winer: Game of Thrones: The Rains of Castamere, David Benioff and D.B. Weiss (HBO)
  • Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor, Steven Moffat (BBC)
  • Game of Thrones: The Rains of Castamere, David Benioff and D.B. Weiss (HBO)
  • Gravity, Alfonso Cuarón and Jonás Cuarón (Warner Bros)
  • The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens, Peter Jackson and Guillermo del Toro (Warner Bros)
  • Iron Man 3, Drew Pearce and Shane Black (Marvel Studios)


Best newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award):

  • Winner: Ann Leckie, for Ancillary Justice (Orbit)
  • Emma Newman, for Between Two Thorns (Angry Robot)
  • Francis Knight, for Fade to Black (Orbit)
  • Laura Lam, for Pantomime (Strange Chemistry)
  • Libby McGugan, for The Eidolon (Solaris)
  • Samantha Shannon, for The Bone Season (Bloomsbury)


The British Fantasy Society Special Award (The Karl Edward Wagner Award): Farah Mendlesohn


Back to the top of the page

1 Comment

This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.