Announcing the 2014 Spectrum Fantastic Art Award Winners

The winners for the 21st edition of the Spectrum Fantastic Art Annual were announced this evening at the grand Midway theatre in Kansas City, at Spectrum Live, a weekend long celebration of fantastic art.

The Spectrum awards are chosen from over five thousand entrees. This year’s jurors were Cory Godbey, Anthony Kosar, George Pratt, Shelly Wan, and Allen Williams.

Congratultions to everyone, in particular Tran Nguyen for her gold medal on “Insects of Love,” a short story coming later this month!

The gold and silver medalists are:


Kent Williams The Criterion Collection Lord of the Flies

Victo Ngai A Tiger Beer Chinese New Year


Gold: Kent Williams—The Criterion Collection Lord of the Flies
Silver: Victo Ngai—A Tiger Beer Chinese New Year


  • Anita Kunz—Little Monsters
  • Shu Yan—Go Into the Gate
  • Gabriel Verdon—Hiversaires


Nicolas Delort The End of the Road

Scott Gustafson Little Sambha and the Tiger with the Beautiful Purple Shoes with Crimson Soles


Gold: Nicolas Delort—The End of the Road
Silver: Scott Gustafson—Little Sambha and the Tiger with the Beautiful Purple Shoes with Crimson Soles


  • John Harris—Fire: the Road Beside the Wall
  • Petar Meseldzija—The Golden Apple Tree 1
  • Kirsti Wakelin—Dreamboats, Lilies, Koi and Chang Kuo-lao


Thomas Campi The Red Door

Mark A. Nelson Seasons


Gold: Thomas Campi—The Red Door
Silver: Mark A. Nelson—Seasons, page 1


  • He Jie Mona—All Corners of the Country: The Lost Buildings #4
  • David Palumbo—Aliens #1 cover
  • Goni Montes—Clive Barker’s Next Testament #6


Theo Prins Refugees

Vance Kovacs—John Carter Punches a Thark

Concept Art

Gold: Theo Prins—Refugees
Silver: Vance Kovacs—John Carter Punches a Thark


  • Theo Prins—Kite City 2
  • Brian Matyas—Messenger Girl
  • Jamie Jones—Ackzero Interior


The Shiflett Bros. Vertical Man-Tank, 1892

Colin and Kristine Poole Hot Diggety Dog


Gold: The Shiflett Bros.—Vertical Man-Tank, 1892
Silver: Colin and Kristine Poole—Hot Diggety Dog


  • Shaun Tan—Grimm Tales: Thousandfurs
  • Jessica Dalvo—Don’t Mind Me
  • Forest Rogers—Goblin Spider


Tran Nguyen—The Insects of Love

Yuko Shimizu Hair Tree


Gold: Tran Nguyen—The Insects of Love
Silver: Yuko Shimizu—Hair Tree


  • Nicolas Delort—Rumor of Angels
  • Luo Xin—Recall
  • Bill Mayer—Fragile Planet


Bill Carman Shared Eyewear

Justin Sweet Blacksea


Gold: Bill Carman—Shared Eyewear
Silver: Justin Sweet—Blacksea


  • Rebecca Yanovskaya—Ascent of Man
  • Ed Binkley—The Hag Griselle Pays a Visit
  • Donato Giancola—Huor and Hurin Approach Gondolin


Omar Rayyan The Long Walk Home

Yukari Masuike Riding Horse on the Freezing Day


Gold: Omar Rayyan—The Long Walk Home
Silver: Yukari Masuike—Riding Horse on the Freezing Day


  • Jean-Baptiste Monge—Ode to the Moon
  • Annie Stegg—Lilaia the Naiad
  • Audrey Benjaminsen—Lady of Light


Grand Master: Iain McCaig

Iain McCraig

Iain McCraig Darth Maul


Back to the top of the page


This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.