Newbery and Caldecott Winners Announced!

The American Library Association announced the Newbery and Caldecott Awards this morning in Philadelphia! Kate DiCamillo won the John Newbery Medal for Flora & Ulysses, the story of a comic-loving girl and a squirrel who is also a poet. DiCamillo previously won the Newbery for The Tale of Despereaux in 2004.

Brian Floca won a Randolph Caldecott Medal for his work, Locomotive. The Printz Award went to Marcus Sedgwick’s Midwinterblood. The Coretta Scott-King Awards for African-American books went to Rita William-Garcia’s P.S. Be Eleven, the story of a Brooklyn girl named Delphine who has to remember to “be eleven” while also taking on adult responsibilities. And the Coretta Scott-King illustration prize went to Bryan Collier with Knock Knock: My Dad’s Dream for Me.

Finally, there were four winners of Newbery Honors! Holly Black, whose work has appeared often on, for Doll Bones; Kevin Henkers for The Year of Billy Miller; Amy Timberlake for One Came Home; and Vince Vawter for Paperboy.

You can read free samples of the Newbery Medal and Honor winners here, and read the New York Times review of Ms. Black’s book here.

Congratulations to all the nominees and winners!


Back to the top of the page

1 Comment

This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.