Announcing the 2013 British Fantasy Awards Winners

The 2013 British Fantasy Awards were presented today at the Brighton World Fantasy convention. Nominees in each category were decided by a vote of the members of the British Fantasy Society and the attendees of FantasyCon 2012. Congratualtions to all the nominees and winners.

British Fantasy Special Award:
Iain M. Banks

Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)

  • Winner: Some Kind of Fairy Tale, Graham Joyce (Gollancz)
  • Blood and Feathers, Lou Morgan (Solaris)
  • The Brides of Rollrock Island, Margo Lanagan (David Fickling Books)
  • Railsea, China Miéville (Macmillan)
  • Red Country, Joe Abercrombie (Gollancz)

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)

  • Winner: Last Days, Adam Nevill (TorUK/Macmillan)
  • The Drowning Girl, Caitlin R. Kiernan (Roc)
  • The Kind Folk, Ramsey Campbell (PS Publishing)
  • Silent Voices, Gary McMahon (Solaris)
  • Some Kind of Fairy Tale, Graham Joyce (Gollancz)

Best Novella

  • Winner: The Nine Deaths of Dr Valentine, John Llewellyn Probert (Spectral Press)
  • Curaré, Michael Moorcock (Zenith Lives!) (Obverse Books)
  • Eyepennies, Mike O’Driscoll (TTA Press)
  • The Respectable Face of Tyranny, Gary Fry (Spectral Press)

Best Short Story

  • Winner: Shark! Shark! Ray Cluley (Black Static #29) (TTA Press)
  • Our Island, Ralph Robert Moore (Where Are We Going?) (Eibonvale Press)
  • Sunshine, Nina Allan (Black Static #29) (TTA Press)
  • Wish for a Gun, Sam Sykes (A Town Called Pandemonium) (Jurassic London)

Best Collection

  • Winner: Remember Why You Fear Me, Robert Shearman (ChiZine Publications)
  • From Hell to Eternity, Thana Niveau (Gray Friar Press)
  • Where Furnaces Burn, Joel Lane (PS Publishing)
  • The Woman Who Married a Cloud, Jonathan Carroll (Subterannean Press)

Best Anthology

  • Winner: Magic: an Anthology of the Esoteric and Arcane, Jonathan Oliver (ed.) (Solaris)
  • A Town Called Pandemonium, Anne C. Perry and Jared Shurin (eds) (Jurassic London)
  • The Mammoth Book of Ghost Stories by Women, Marie O’Regan (ed.) (Robinson)
  • Terror Tales of the Cotswolds, Paul Finch (ed.) (Gray Friar Press)

Best Small Press (the PS Publishing Independent Press Award)

  • Winner: ChiZine Publications (Brett Alexander Savory and Sandra Kasturi)
  • Gray Friar Press (Gary Fry)
  • Spectral Press (Simon Marshall-Jones)
  • TTA Press (Andy Cox)

Best Non-Fiction

  • Winner: Pornokitsch, Anne C. Perry and Jared Shurin (eds)
  • Ansible, David Langford
  • The Cambridge Companion to Fantasy Literature, Edward James and Farah Mendlesohn (eds) (Cambridge University Press)
  • Coffinmaker’s Blues, Stephen Volk (Black Static) (TTA Press)
  • Fantasy Faction, Marc Aplin (ed.)
  • Reflections: On the Magic of Writing, Diana Wynne Jones (David Fickling Books)

Best Magazine/Periodical

  • Winner: Interzone, Andy Cox (ed.) (TTA Press)
  • Black Static, Andy Cox (ed.) (TTA Press)
  • SFX, David Bradley (ed.) (Future Publishing)
  • Shadows and Tall Trees, Michael Kelly (ed.) (Undertow Publications)

Best Artist

  • Winner: Sean Phillips
  • Ben Baldwin
  • David Rix
  • Les Edwards
  • Vincent Chong

Best Comic/Graphic Novel

  • Winner: Saga, Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples (Image Comics)
  • Dial H, China Miéville, Mateus Santolouco, David Lapham and Riccardo Burchielli (DC Comics)
  • The Unwritten, Mike Carey, Peter Gross, Gary Erskine, Gabriel Hernández Walta, M.K. Perker, Vince Locke and Rufus Dayglo (DC Comics/Vertigo)
  • The Walking Dead, Robert Kirkman and Charlie Adlard (Skybound Entertainment/Image Comics)

Best Screenplay

  • Winner: The Cabin in the Woods, Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard
  • Avengers Assemble, Joss Whedon
  • Sightseers, Alice Lowe, Steve Oram and Amy Jump
  • The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens, Peter Jackson and Guillermo del Toro

Best Newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award)

  • Winner: Helen Marshall, for Hair Side, Flesh Side (ChiZine Publications)
  • Alison Moore, for The Lighthouse (Salt Publishing)
  • Anne Lyle, for The Alchemist of Souls (Angry Robot)
  • E.C. Myers, for Fair Coin (Pyr)
  • Kim Curran, for Shift (Strange Chemistry)
  • Lou Morgan, for Blood and Feathers (Solaris)
  • Molly Tanzer, for A Pretty Mouth (Lazy Fascist Press)
  • Saladin Ahmed, for Throne of the Crescent Moon (Gollancz)
  • Stephen Bacon, for Peel Back the Sky (Gray Friar Press)
  • Stephen Blackmoore, for City of the Lost (Daw Books)


Back to the top of the page

This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.