The Winners of the 2012 Kitschies Have Been Announced

Today, Pornokitsch is presenting its annual science fiction award: the Kitschies. The Kitschies are a non-profit association with the mission of encouraging and elevating the tone of the discussion of genre literature in its many forms. Now in its fourth year, and sponsored by Kraken Rum, the Kitschies doles out four “tentacles” as recognition for excellence in the SF&F fields. Below are this year’s finalists AND WINNERS in the four categories: Red Tentacle (Novel), Golden Tentacle (Debut), Inky Tentacle (Cover) and the Black Tentacle (Discretionary.)

Winners receive a total of £2,000 in prize money, an iconic Tentacle trophy and a bottle of the Kraken’s fine black rum. The awards ceremony, held in London has just concluded. Check out the results below and congrats to all the nominees and winners!

The Kitschies are proud to announce the finalists for the year’s most progressive, intelligent and entertaining works of genre literature.


The 2012 finalists for the Red Tentacle (Novel):

  • WINNER: Nick Harkaway’s Angelmaker (William Heinemann)
  • Jesse Bullington’s The Folly of the World (Orbit)
  • Frances Hardinge’s A Face Like Glass (Macmillan)
  • Adam Roberts’ Jack Glass (Gollancz)
  • Juli Zeh’s The Method (Harvill Secker) (Translated by Sally-Ann Spencer)



The 2012 finalists for the Golden Tentacle (Debut Novel):

  • WINNER: Karen Lord’s Redemption in Indigo (Jo Fletcher Books)
  • Madeline Ashby’s vN (Angry Robot)
  • Jenni Fagan’s The Panopticon (William Heinemann)
  • Rachel Hartman’s Seraphina (Doubleday)
  • Tom Pollock’s The City’s Son (Jo Fletcher Books)



The 2012 finalists for the Inky Tentacle (Cover):

  • WINNER: Dave Shelton for his own A Boy and a Bear in a Boat (David Fickling Books)
  • La Boca for Ned Beauman’s The Teleportation Accident (Sceptre)
  • Oliver Jeffers for John Boyne’s The Terrible Thing that Happened to Barnaby Brocket (Doubleday)
  • Tom Gauld for Matthew Hughes’ Costume Not Included (Angry Robot)
  • Peter Mendelsund for Ben Marcus’ Flame Alphabet (Granta)


And the discretionary Black Tentacle Goes To: The World SF Blog.


The jurors for this year’s Kitschies are the following:

For the Red and Gold Tenatacle:

Rebecca Levene (Emmerdale), Patrick Ness (A Monster Calls), Jared Shurin (co-editor of Pornokitsch)

For the Inky Tentacle:

Gary Northfield (The Dandy), Lauren O’Farrell (Stich London), Ed Warren (Creature)

The Black Tentacle is selected by the entire committee.

Congrats to all the finalists and winners!


Back to the top of the page

1 Comment

This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.