The Sookie Stackhouse Reread

Announcing the Sookie Stackhouse Reread on!

On May 7th, the thirteenth (and final) book of Charlaine Harris’s long-running urban fantasy series, Dead Ever After, will be released. In honor of this momentous occasion, is kicking off a reread of the entire series, starting with the first novel, Dead Until Dark.

The series chronicles the adventures of our heroine, Sookie Stackhouse, a small town girl from Bon Temps, Louisiana. She’s a waitress at the local bar with a pretty normal life…or it would be, if she wasn’t telepathic. Oh, and did I mention that vampires have just come out to the world? Sookie’s unusual abilities and natural curiousity, along with all the vampires and other creatures who start suddenly showing up in Bon Temps, lead her into all sorts of adventures, which we’ll follow over the course of the thirteen novels.

Each Thursday, I’ll take a look at an individual book in the series, following Sookie’s story all the way up from Dead Until Dark through Dead Ever After. Please be aware that these posts will contain spoilers!

If you’re new to the series, I’d love it if you read along…and if you’ve watched the HBO series, True Blood, but never the books, you’re missing out! Of course, if you’re a longtime reader, I hope you’ll join in and discuss your favorite moments in this fabulous series!

We begin with Dead Until Dark.


Back to the top of the page


This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.