Announcing the 2012 World Fantasy Award Winners! |

Announcing the 2012 World Fantasy Award Winners!

Congratulations to the winners and nominees of the 2012 World Fantasy Awards! The World Fantasy Awards have been given annually since 1975, to fantasy authors the world over, and are announced every year, appropriately, at the World Fantasy Awards Convention, which is being held in Toronto, Canada this year.

Below the cut you’ll find a list of the categories with nominees, with winners in bold. We’ll be updating the list as winners are announced, so don’t forget to refresh the page periodically.

Check out the complete list after the cut!


Winner: • Osama, Lavie Tidhar (PS Publishing)
Those Across the River, Christopher Buehlman (Ace)
11/22/63, Stephen King (Scribner; Hodder & Stoughton as 11.22.63)
A Dance with Dragons, George R.R. Martin (Bantam; Harper Voyager UK)
Among Others, Jo Walton (Tor)


Winner: “A Small Price to Pay for Birdsong,” K.J. Parker (Subterranean Winter 2011)
• “Near Zennor,” Elizabeth Hand (A Book of Horrors)
• “Alice Through the Plastic Sheet,” Robert Shearman (A Book of Horrors)
• “Rose Street Attractors,” Lucius Shepard (Ghosts by Gaslight)
•  “Silently and Very Fast,” Catherynne M. Valente (WSFA Press; Clarkesworld)

Short Fiction
Winner:  “The Paper Menagerie,” Ken Liu (F&SF 3-4/11)
• “X for Demetrious,” Steve Duffy (Blood and Other Cravings)
• “Younger Women,” Karen Joy Fowler (Subterranean Summer 2011)
• “A Journey of Only Two Paces,” Tim Powers (The Bible Repairman and Other Stories)
• “The Cartographer Wasps and the Anarchist Bees,” E. Lily Yu (Clarkesworld 4/11)

Winner: The Weird, Ann & Jeff VanderMeer, eds. (Corvus; Tor, published May 2012)
Blood and Other Cravings, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Tor)
A Book of Horrors, Stephen Jones, ed. (Jo Fletcher Books)
The Thackery T. Lambshead Cabinet of Curiosities, Ann & Jeff VanderMeer, eds. (Harper Voyager US)
Gutshot, Conrad Williams, ed. (PS Publishing)

Winner: The Bible Repairman and Other Stories, Tim Powers (Tachyon)
•  Bluegrass Symphony, Lisa L. Hannett (Ticonderoga)
Two Worlds and In Between, Caitlín R. Kiernan (Subterranean Press)
•  After the Apocalypse, Maureen F. McHugh (Small Beer)
Mrs Midnight and Other Stories, Reggie Oliver (Tartarus)

Winner: John Coulthart
•  Julie Dillon
•  Jon Foster
•  Kathleen Jennings
•  John Picacio

Special Award Professional
Winner: Eric Lane, for publishing in translation – Dedalus books
•  John Joseph Adams, for editing – anthology and magazine
•  Jo Fletcher, for editing – Jo Fletcher Books
•  Brett Alexander Savory & Sandra Kasturi, for ChiZine Publications
•  Jeff VanderMeer & S.J. Chambers, for The Steampunk Bible

Special Award Non-Professional
Winner: Raymond Russell & Rosalie Parker, for Tartarus Press
•  Kate Baker, Neil Clarke, Cheryl Morgan & Sean Wallace, for Clarkesworld
•  Cat Rambo, for Fantasy
•  Charles Tan, for Bibliophile Stalker blog
•  Mark Valentine, for Wormwood

Additionally, the winners of this year’s Lifetime Achievement award are authors Alan Garner and George R.R. Martin. Congratulations again to the winners and nominees!

Photos from the event here


Back to the top of the page


This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.