Sidewise Awards Nominees Announced

We’ve just received word that the annual awards for alternate history science fiction—The Sidewise Awards— has released their list of this year’s nominees. The winners will be announced at Chicon 7, this year’s Worldcon, in Chicago, Illinois during the weekend of August 30.  The Sidewise Awards have been presented annually since 1995 to recognize excellence in alternate historical fiction. This year’s panel of judges was made up of Stephen Baxter, Evelyn Leeper, Jim Rittenhouse, Stu Shiffman, Kurt Sidaway, and Steven H Silver. 

We’re also happy to announce two of nominated works are from Michael F. Flynn’s “The Iron Shirts” and Harry Turtledove’s “Lee at the Alamo.”

Check below the cut for the full list of nominees!

Short Form

* Michael F. Flynn, “The Iron Shirts” (
* Lisa Goldstein, “Paradise Is a Walled Garden” (Asimov’s, 8/11)
* Jason Stoddard, “Orion Rising” (Panverse 3, edited by Dario Ciriello,
Panverse Publishing)
* Harry Turtledove, “Lee at the Alamo” (

Long Form

* Robert Conroy, Castro’s Bomb (Kindle)
* Robert Conroy, Himmler’s War (Baen Books)
* Jeff Greenfield, Then Everything Changed (Putnam)
* Ian R MacLeod, Wake Up and Dream (PS Publishing)
* Ian McDonald, Planesrunner (Pyr)
* Ekaterina Sedia, Heart of Iron (Prime)
* Lavie Tidhar, Camera Obscura (Angry Robot)


Back to the top of the page

1 Comment

This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.