Announcing the 2011 Nebula Awards Winners

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) have announced the winners for this year’s Nebula Awards, the Ray Bradbury Award, and the Andre Norton Award. Needless to say, is jazzed to see Charlie Jane Anders’s outstanding story “Six Months, Three Days” nominated in the Novelette category.

And we’re over the moon to see Tor Books author and columnist Jo Walton take home the Nebula Award for Best Novel for her remarkable novel Among Others!

Congratulations to all the honorees and winners!



  • The Man Who Bridged the Mist,” Kij Johnson (Asimov’s Science Fiction, October/November 2011) – WINNER
  • Kiss Me Twice,” Mary Robinette Kowal (Asimov’s Science Fiction, June 2011)
  • Silently and Very Fast,” Catherynne M. Valente (WFSA Press; Clarkesworld Magazine, October 2011)
  • “The Ice Owl,” Carolyn Ives Gilman (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, November/December 2011)
  • The Man Who Ended History: A Documentary,” Ken Liu (Panverse Three, Panverse Publishing)
  • “With Unclean Hands,” Adam-Troy Castro (Analog Science Fiction and Fact, November 2011)


  • “What We Found,” Geoff Ryman (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, September/October 2011) – WINNER
  • “Fields of Gold,” Rachel Swirsky (Eclipse 4, Night Shade Books)
  • “Ray of Light,” Brad R. Torgersen (Analog Science Fiction and Fact, December 2011)
  • Sauerkraut Station,” Ferrett Steinmetz (Giganotosaurus, November 2011)
  • Six Months, Three Days,” Charlie Jane Anders (, June 2011)
  • The Migratory Pattern of Dancers,” Katherine Sparrow (Giganotosaurus, July 2011)
  • The Old Equations,” Jake Kerr (Lightspeed Magazine, July 2011)

Short Story

Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation

Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy Book

The Solstice Award was granted to John Clute and posthumously to Octavia Butler to acknowledge their significant positive impact on the science fiction and fantasy landscape. This year’s Solstice award was crafted by Mike Libby of Insect Lab.

The Service to SFWA Award went to Bud Webster.

The winners were announced at the banquet during SFWA’s 47th Annual Nebula Awards Weekend, held on Saturday, May 19 during the awards weekend at the Hyatt Regency Crystal City in Arlington, Virginia.

SFWA President John Scalzi about this year’s winner’s slate, “This is a fantastic list that shows both the width and depth of our genre. It shows that Science Fiction and Fantasy are not static but continue to grow and change. We are truly blessed with a fantastic slate of finalists this year. That these authors came out as the winners, is a credit to both the strength of the slate itself and the individual authors, and I couldn’t be happier for you. Congratulations to you all.”

Connie Willis was the recipient of the 2011 Damon Knight Grand Master Award for her lifetime contributions to, and achievements in, the field. Walter Jon Williams will presides as toastmaster, with astronaut Michael Fincke as keynote speaker. More information on SFWA and the Nebula Awards can be found on SFWA’s site.


Back to the top of the page


This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.