2011 Tiptree Award Winners and Honorees Announced

The James Tiptree, Jr. Literary Award Council has just announced the winner, honor list, and long list of recommended reading for the 2011 Tiptree Award. As the announcement says, the Tiptree Award “is presented annually to a work of science fiction or fantasy that explores and expands gender roles. The award seeks out work that is thought-provoking, imaginative, and perhaps even infuriating. It is intended to reward those writers who are bold enough to contemplate shifts and changes in gender roles, a fundamental aspect of any society.”

This year’s winner was Redwood and Wildfire, a novel by Andrea Hairston, published by Aqueduct Press. Of the novel, the Tiptree Award says: “Intersections of race, class, and gender encompass these characters’ entire lives. They struggle with external and internal forces around questions of gender roles, love, identity, and sexuality. This challenge drives how they move through the world and how it sees them. The characters in Redwood and Wildfire deftly negotiate freedom and integrity in a society where it’s difficult to hold true to these things.”

The honor list is as follows – on the press release, the jurors’ comments on the works are included. For those stories and novels which I’ve reviewed here, I’ll include links.

The long-list includes other stories that were “worthy of attention:”

  • Lauren Beukes, Zoo City (Angry Robot 2011)
  •  Sigrid Ellis, “No Return Address” (Strange Horizons, 2010.11.29)
  • Karen Healey, The Shattering (Allen & Unwin (Aus/NZ) 2011; Little, Brown (US) 2011)
  • Sue Isle, “Nation of the Night” (in her collection Nightsiders, Twelfth Planet Press 2011)
  • Alaya Dawn Johnson, “Their Changing Bodies” (Subterranean, Summer 2011)
  • Malindo Lo, Huntress (Little, Brown 2011) – reviewed
  • Meghan McCarron, “We Heart Vampires!!!!!!” (Strange Horizons, 2010.05.03-10)
  • Teresa Milbrodt, Bearded Women Stories (ChiZine Publications 2011)
  • Nnedi Okorafor, Akata Witch (Viking 2011)
  • An Owomoyela, “Of Wolves and Men”  (Fantasy Magazine, February 2011)
  • Helen Oyeyemi, Mr. Fox (Riverhead 2011)
  • J.R. Pournelle, Outies (New Brookland Press 2011)
  • Lev AC Rosen, All Men of Genius (Tor 2011) – reviewed
  • Catherynne M. Valente, Deathless (Tor 2011)

The jurors for the 2011 award were Lynne Thomas (chair), Karen Meisner, James Nicoll, Nisi Shawl, and Tansy Rayner Roberts.

Lee Mandelo is a writer, critic and occasional editor whose primary fields of interest are speculative fiction and queer literature, especially when the two coincide. Also, comics. She can be found on Twitter or her website.


Back to the top of the page


This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.