2011 Chesley Award Finalists

The nominees for the 2011 Chesley Awards, celebrating science fiction and fantasy art, have been announced. The Chesleys are given by the Association of Science Fiction and Fantasy Artists each year. This year’s ceremony will take place at the Reno Worldcon, Renovation, August 17th—21st.

Congratulations to all the nominees. Tor.com and Tor Books are particularly proud to have 6 nominations.

Click on the category headers to view the work.


  • Volkan Baga, for The Zombies of Oz by Christian Endres; Atlantis, November 2010
  • Jason Chan, for Geist by Phillipa Ballantine; Ace, November 2010
  • Jon Foster, for Dreadnought by Cherie Priest; Tor, September 2010
  • Todd Lockwood, for The Ragged Man by Tom Lloyd; Pyr, August 2010
  • Stephan Martiniere, for Ares Express by Ian McDonald; Pyr, August 2010
  • Anthony Palumbo, for Yarn by Jon Armstrong; Night Shade Books, 12/2010
  • John Picacio, for Elric: Swords and Roses by Michael Moorcock; Del Rey, December 2010
  • Dan Dos Santos, for Alien Tango by Gini Koch; DAW, December 2010


  • Kinuko Y. Craft, for Midsummer Night by Freda Warrington; Tor, November 2010
  • Don Maitz, for Blasphemy by Mike Resnick; Golden Gryphon Press, 08/2010
  • Gregory Manchess, for Spectrum 17 edited by Cathy Fenner & Arnie Fenner;
  • Underwood Books, Nov. 2010
  • John Picacio, for The Waters Rising by Sheri S. Tepper; Harper Voyager, August 2010
  • Michael Whelan, for The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson; Tor, August 2010


  • Julie Dillon, for Clarkesworld #48; September 2010
  • Nick Greenwood, for Orson Scott Card’s Intergalactic Medicine Show #17; June 2010
  • David A. Hardy, for Analog; April 2010
  • Andrey Lazarev, for Clarkesworld #50; November 2010
  • Sergio Rebolledo, for Clarkesworld #40; January 2010
  • James Ryman, for Heavy Metal; January 2010


  • Thomas S. Kuebler, Scream Queen; mixed media
  • David Meng, Amphibiana; mixed media
  • Mark Newman, Eel Walker; bronze
  • Michael Parkes, The Letter; bronze
  • Jordu Schell, Ixana; mixed media
  • Vincent Villafranca, The Dogs of War; bronze

Interior Illustration

  • Jason Chan, Vilcabamba by Harry Turtledove; Tor.com, 2010
  • Jon Foster, Four Horsemen, at Their Leisure by Richard Parks; Tor.com, April 2010
  • Donato Giancola, Middle Earth: Visions of a Modern Myth by Donato Giancola;
  • Underwood Books, 10/2010
  • John Picacio, Elric: Swords and Roses by Michael Moorcock; Del Rey, December 2010
  • Keith Thompson, Behemoth by Scott Westerfeld; Simon Pulse, October 2010

Unpublished Color

  • Daren Bader, Isis; oil
  • Julie Dillon, Planetary Alignment; digital
  • David A. Hardy, Portals to Infinity; acrylic
  • Omar Rayyan, The Favorite; oil
  • Matthew Stewart, Waterfall Dragons; oil
  • Raoul Vitale, Torin’s Quest; oil

Unpublished Monochrome

  • Eric Braddock, Highborne; graphite & white charcoal on toned paper
  • Anthony Francisco, Tikbalang; digital
  • Ed Ko, Drawing for Beautiful Grim; pencil
  • Petar Meseldžija, UNK!; pencil
  • Ian Miller, Triptych; ink
  • David Palumbo, Zombie Girl; acrylic


  • Bob Eggleton, Dragon’s Domain: The Ultimate Dragon Painting Workshop; Impact, September 2010
  • Donato Giancola, St. George and the Dragon, promo art for Dragon*Con 2010
  • Lars Grant-West, Pact of the Blind, promo art for IlluXCon 3
  • David Palumbo, Transcend (aka Judgment), Heavy Metal tarot card; 2010
  • Sam Weber, Shadow Rising by Robert Jordan, promo art for Tor ebook; January 2010


  • Daarken, Harbor Serpent (Magic card, Magic 2011 core set); WotC, July 2010
  • Lucas Graciano, Amorphous Drake (Legends of Norrath); Sony Online Entertainment, 2010
  • Kekai Kotaki, Gaea’s Revenge (Magic card, Magic 2011 core set); WotC, July 2010
  • Howard Lyon, Eel Umbra (Magic card, “Rise of the Eldrazi” set); WotC, April 2010
  • Matthew Stewart, Bloodshot Trainee (Magic card, “Scars of Mirrodin” set); WotC, October 2010
  • L. A. Williams, Maritime Guard (Magic card, Magic 2011 core set); WotC, July 2010

Art Director

Lifetime Artistic Acheivement

Shown above: Lucas Graciano, Dan Dos Santos, Greg Manchess, Julie Dillon, Jordu, Donato, Raoul Vitale, Anthony Francisco, Sam Weber, L. A. Williams.


Back to the top of the page


This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.