Nebula Award Nominations Announced!

The Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) has just announced the nominees for this year’s Nebula Awards! Our congratulations go out to all of the nominees, a full list of which can be seen below the cut.

We’d like to extend some particular hurrahs to Kij Johnson, who was nominated in the Short Story category for “Ponies” here on, as well as Tor Books author Mary Robinette Kowal, who was nominated for her debut novel Shades of Milk and Honey, and Pearl North, who was nominated for the Andre Norton Award for The Boy From Ilysies.

Short Story



  • “Map of Seventeen,” Christopher Barzak (The Beastly Bride)
  • “The Jaguar House, in Shadow,” Aliette de Bodard (Asimov’s 7/10)
  • “That Leviathan, Whom Thou Hast Made,” Eric James Stone (Analog 9/10)
  • “Plus or Minus,” James Patrick Kelly (Asimov’s 12/10)
  • “Pishaach,” Shweta Narayan (The Beastly Bride)
  • “The Fortuitous Meeting of Gerard van Oost and Oludara,” Christopher Kastensmidt (Realms of Fantasy 4/10)
  • “Stone Wall Truth,” Caroline M. Yoachim (Asimov’s 2/10)






Ray Bradbury Award

  • Despicable Me, Pierre Coffin & Chris Renaud (directors), Ken Daurio & Cinco Paul (screenplay), Sergio Pablos (story) (Illumination Entertainment)
  • Doctor Who: “Vincent and the Doctor,” Richard Curtis (writer), Jonny Campbell (director)
  • How to Train Your Dragon, Dean DeBlois & Chris Sanders (directors), William Davies, Dean DeBlois, & Chris Sanders (screenplay) (DreamWorks Animation)
  • Inception, Christopher Nolan (director), Christopher Nolan (screenplay) (Warner)
  • Scott Pilgrim Vs. the World, Edgar Wright (director), Michael Bacall & Edgar Wright (screenplay) (Universal)
  • Toy Story 3, Lee Unkrich (director), Michael Arndt (screenplay), John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton, & Lee Unkrich (story) (Pixar/Disney)


Andre Norton Award

The Nebula Awards are voted on, and presented by, active members of  SFWA and will be announced at the Nebula Awards Banquet on Saturday, May 21, 2011 at the Washington Hilton, in Washington, D.C.. Other awards to be presented are the Andre Norton Award for Excellence in Science Fiction or Fantasy for Young Adults, the Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation and the Solstice Award for outstanding contribution to the field.


Back to the top of the page

1 Comment

This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.