’s Hugo- and Nebula-Eligible Stories

Nominations are open for both the Hugo and Nebula Awards, and wouldn’t you know it, had the honor of publishing some eligible works in 2010!

The Hugo and Nebula Awards are presented each year to outstanding works of science fiction, fantasy, horror, or related fiction genre published during the previous year.

Hugo winners are selected by the members of Worldcon. This year’s convention is Renovation, in Reno, NV, but members from last year are also eligible to nominate; you need to buy at least a supporting membership for Renovation by January 31 in order to nominate.

The Hugo nominations period is open through Saturday, March 26th, 2011. The ballot is here, and you may nominate up to five works in each category.

The Nebula Awards are voted on by active members of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, Inc. (SFWA for short). Nebula nominations are open through Tuesday, February 15, and the form is here; you must be a SFWA member, and logged in, to nominate.


Vilcabamba” by Harry Turtledove
Fare Thee Well” by Cathy Clamp
The Cage” by A.M. Dellamonica
River of Souls” by Beth Bernobich
Lightbringers and Rainmakers” by Felix Gilman
Sacrifice of the First Sheason” by Peter Orullian
The Trains that Climb the Winter Tree” by Michael Swanwick and Eileen Gunn

Short Stories

Looking for Truth in a Wild Blue Yonder” by Jay Lake and Ken Scholes
The Starship Mechanic” by Ken Scholes and Jay Lake
Tourists” by Sean Craven
The Final Now” by Gregory Benford
The Next Invasion” by Robert Reed
Four Horsemen, At Their Leisure” by Richard Parks
The Courtship of the Queen” by Bruce McAllister
The Cockroach Hat” by Terry Bisson
What Doctor Gottlieb Saw” by Ian Tregillis
Olga” by C.T. Adams
The President’s Brain is Missing” by John Scalzi
A Stroke of Dumb Luck” by Shiloh Walker
Eve of Sin City” by S.J. Day
What Makes a River” by Deborah Coates
The Fermi Paradox Is Our Business Model” by Charlie Jane Anders
The Speed of Time” by Jay Lake
The Monster’s Million Faces” by Rachel Swirsky
Preparations” by Mark Mills
Intersections and Interlopers” by Ken Scholes and Lisa Desrochers
Good Night, Moon” by Rudy Rucker and Bruce Sterling
Clockwork Fairies” by Cat Rambo
A Different Engine” by Eileen Gunn
Day After the Cooters” by Eileen Gunn
The Perdido Street Project” by Eileen Gunn
Internal Devices” by Eileen Gunn
Ponies” by Kij Johnson
Sweetheart” by Abbey Mei Otis

Short Stories (Reprints)

These are stories that first appeared in other markets this year, but are eligible for 2010 awards and deserve some signal-boosting!

Good People” by David Wellington
The Man with the Knives” by Ellen Kushner
The Green Bird” by Kage Baker


Graphic Stories

A Hugo-only category, although graphic stories may be nominated for the Nebula in existing prose categories.


Red Light Properties by Dan Goldman
King of an Endless Sky by Teetering Bulb Studios
Dear Melissa by Teetering Bulb Studios


Editor, Short Form

Hugo only


Patrick Nielsen Hayden
Liz Gorinsky


Hugo only

Jason Chan
Goni Montes
Marcos Chin
Matt Stawicki
Jon Foster
Kekai Kotaki
Gary Kelley
Stephan Martiniere
Gregory Manchess
Rick Berry
Chris Buzelli
Eric Fortune
Red Nose Studio
Dave Palumbo
Carl Wiens
Gordon Crabb
Sam R. Kennedy
Sam Weber
Brian Elig
Tim Bower
Fyodor Pavlov
Lawrence Gullo
Greg Ruth


Back to the top of the page


This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.