Announcing the 2010 Hugo Award Winners!

The Hugo Awards have been given since 1953, and every year since 1955, by the annual World Science Fiction Convention (the “Worldcon”). Finalists are nominated by members of the previous Worldcon and of the upcoming one; winners are selected by members of the upcoming one.

This year’s Worldcon and Hugo ceremonies are being held at AussieCon 4, hence the early morning announcement post. Below the cut you’ll find a list of the categories with nominees, including a few featured here on, such as Charles Stross’s “Overtime” story (Best Novelette); Rachel Swirsky’s “Eros, Philia, Agape” story (Best Novelette); plus Liz Gorinsky, Lou Anders, and Patrick Nielsen Hayden (Best Editor, Long Form).

Linked nominees can be followed to a review or feature of that nominee here on Winners will be updated as they are announced and will appear in their category in bold. Categories are ordered by presentation.

Best Fan Artist
Presented by Gina Goddard

  • Brad W Foster (winner)
  • Dave Howell
  • Sue Mason
  • Steve Stiles
  • Taral Wayne

Best Fanzine
Presented by James Shields

  • StarShipSofa edited by Tony C. Smith (winner)
  • Argentus edited by Steven H. Silver
  • Banana Wings edited by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer
  • Challenger edited by Guy H. Lillian III
  • Drink Tank edited by Christopher J Garcia, with guest editor James Bacon
  • File 770 edited by Mike Glyer

Best Fan Writer
Presented by John Hertz

  • Frederik Pohl (winner)
  • Claire Brialey
  • Christopher J Garcia
  • James Nicoll
  • Lloyd Penney

Best Semiprozine
Presented by Bruce Gillespie

  • Clarkesworld edited by Neil Clarke, Sean Wallace, & Cheryl Morgan (winner)
  • Ansible edited by David Langford
  • Interzone edited by Andy Cox
  • Locus edited by Charles N. Brown, Kirsten Gong-Wong, & Liza Groen Trombi
  • Weird Tales edited by Ann VanderMeer & Stephen H. Segal

Best Professional Artist
Presented by Nick Stathopoulos

Best Editor, Short Form
Presented by Lucy Sussex

  • Ellen Datlow (winner)
  • Stanley Schmidt
  • Jonathan Strahan
  • Gordon Van Gelder
  • Sheila Williams

Best Editor, Long Form
Presented by Robert Silverberg

  • Patrick Nielsen Hayden (winner)
  • Lou Anders
  • Ginjer Buchanan
  • Liz Gorinsky
  • Juliet Ulman

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form
Presented by Paul Cornell

  • Doctor Who: “The Waters of Mars”, written by Russell T Davies & Phil Ford; directed by Graeme Harper (BBC Wales) (winner)
  • Doctor Who: “The Next Doctor”, written by Russell T Davies; directed by Andy Goddard (BBC Wales)
  • Doctor Who: “Planet of the Dead”, written by Russell T Davies & Gareth Roberts; directed by James Strong (BBC Wales)
  • Dollhouse: “Epitaph 1”, story by Joss Whedon; written by Maurissa Tancharoen & Jed Whedon; directed by David Solomon (Mutant Enemy)
  • FlashForward: “No More Good Days” written by Brannon Braga & David S. Goyer; directed by David S. Goyer; based on the novel by Robert J. Sawyer (ABC)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form
Presented by George R. R. Martin

  • Moon, screenplay by Nathan Parker; story by Duncan Jones; directed by Duncan Jones (Liberty Films) (winner)
  • Avatar, screenplay and directed by James Cameron (Twentieth Century Fox)
  • District 9, acreenplay by Neill Blomkamp & Terri Tatchell; directed by Neill Blomkamp (TriStar Pictures)
  • Star Trek, screenplay by Robert Orci & Alex Kurtzman; directed by J.J. Abrams (Paramount)
  • Up, screenplay by Bob Peterson & Pete Docter; story by Bob Peterson, Pete Docter, & Thomas McCarthy; directed by Bob Peterson & Pete Docter (Disney/Pixar)

Best Graphic Story
Presented by Shaun Tan

Best Related Book
Presented by Cheryl Morgan

  • This Is Me, Jack Vance!(Or, More Properly, This is “I”) by Jack Vance (Subterranean Press) (winner)
  • Canary Fever: Reviews by John Clute (Beccon)
  • Hope-In-The-Mist: The Extraordinary Career and Mysterious Life of Hope Mirrlees by Michael Swanwick (Temporary Culture)
  • The Inter-Galactic Playground: A Critical Study of Children’s and Teens’ Science Fiction by Farah Mendlesohn (McFarland)
  • On Joanna Russ edited by Farah Mendlesohn (Wesleyan)
  • The Secret Feminist Cabal: A Cultural History of SF Feminisms by Helen Merrick (Aqueduct)

Best Short Story
Presented by Sean Williams

Best Novelette
Presented by Terry Dowling

Best Novella
Presented by Sean McMullen

Best Novel
Presented by Kim Stanley Robinson

The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer
Presented by John Scalzi and Jay Lake

  • Seanan McGuire (winner)
  • Saladin Ahmed
  • Gail Carriger
  • Felix Gilman
  • Lezli Robyn

This year’s Hugo Awards trophy was designed by Nick Stathopoulos. Congratulatons to all the nominees and winners!


Back to the top of the page


This post is closed for comments.

Our Privacy Notice has been updated to explain how we use cookies, which you accept by continuing to use this website. To withdraw your consent, see Your Choices.