Aug 31 2012 10:00pm

Announcing the 2012 Chesley Award Winners

The winners of the 2012 Chesley Awards were announced this evening at Chicon 7, the Chicago World Con. The Chesleys are given by the Association of Science Fiction and Fantasy Artists each year for excellence in genre art.

Congratulations to all the winners and nominees!

Best Cover Illustration: Paperback Book

  • Winner: Matthew Stewart for The Cloud Roads by Martha Wells, Night Shade Books (above)
  • Mitchell D. Bentley for The Alamo and Zombies by Jean A. Stuntz, Yard Dog Press, Dec. 2011
  • Dan Dos Santos for My Life as a White Trash Zombie by Diana Rowland, DAW Books
  • Justin Gerard for Heart of Smoke & Steam by Andrew P. Mayer, Pyr Books
  • Lucas Graciano for The Goblin Corps by Ari Marmell, Pyr books
  • David Palumbo for God’s War by Kameron Hurley, Night Shade Books
  • Jon Sullivan for The Curious Case of the Clockwork Man by Mark Hodder Pyr Books
  • J. P. Targete for The Sword of Darrow by Alex & Hal Malchow, Ben Bella Books


Best Cover Illustration: Hardback Book

  • Winner: Tom Kidd for Deathbird Stories by Harlan Ellison, Subterranean Press. (above)
  • Stephan Martiniere for Prospero Regained by L. Jagi Lamplighter, Tor Books
  • Lee Moyer for Two Worlds and In Between: The Best of Caitlin R. Kieran, Subterranean Press
  • Cliff Nielsen for The Tempering of Men by Sarah Monette & Elizabeth Bear, Tor Books
  • Greg Staples for The Horror Stories of Robert E. Howard, Subterranean Press


Best Cover Illustration: Magazine

  • Winner: Lee Moyer for Weird Tales, Winter 2010/2011 (above)
  • Facundo Diaz for Clarkesworld July 2011
  • Laura Diehl for Fantasy, August 2011 
  • Carly B. Sorge for Apex Magazine, September 2011
  • Dariusz Zawadski for Fantasy, May 2011


Best Interior Illustration

  • Winner: Julie Dillon for “The Dala Horse” by Michael Swanwick, (above)
  • Scott Gustafson for Eddie: The Lost Youth of Edgar Allan Poe by Scott Gustafson, Simon & Schuster
  • Ryohei Hase for “Narco Americano” by T. J. English, Playboy, February
  • Greg Staples for The Horror Stories of Robert E. Howard, Subterranean Press
  • J. P. Targete for The Sword of Darrow by Alex & Hal Malchow, BenBella Books


Best Monochrome Work: Unpublished

  • Winner: Raoul Vitale for The Yeti, pencil (above)
  • Justin Gerard for St. George and the Dragon, pencil
  • Stephen Hickman for Siegfried, ink on toned paper
  • Joāo Ruas for Migration, graphite on paper, vellum & acetate
  • Allen Williams for Wood Nymph, pencil


Best Color Work: Unpublished

  • Winner: Omar Rayyan for The Dragon and the Nightingale (above)
  • Stephen Hickman for The Hero of the Apotheosis
  • David Palumbo for Through a Blood Red Veil
  • Eric Velhagen for Fantasy Feast
  • Raoul Vitale for Turin and Glaurang


Best Three-Dimensional Art

  • Tie Winner: Michael Parkes for Moonstruck, bronze (above)
  • Tie Winner: Vincent Villafranca for Robobike, bronze (above) 
  • Gil Bruvel for Dichotomy, cupro nickel
  • Thomas S. Kuebler for Baba Yaga, mixed
  • Virginie Ropars for Autumnnalis Venenata, mixed (above)


Best Gaming-Related Illustration

  • Winner: Michael C. Hayes for Distress, 2012 Core Set Magic card,WotC (above)
  • E.M. Gist for Wandering Elf, Magic the Gathering: Tactics, Sony Online
  • Lucas Graciano for Pathfinder Player Companion: The Humans of Golarian, Paizo Publishing
  • Chris Rahn for Glissa, the Traitor, “Mirrodin Beseiged” Magic card,WotC
  • Matt Stewart for Creepy Doll, “Innistrad” Magic card, WotC


Best Product Illustration

  • Winner: John Picacio for George R.R. Martin: A Song of Ice and Fire, 2012 Calendar, Random House, July 2011 (above)
  • Stuart Craig for production design for the Harry Potter films, Warner Brothers, 2011
  • Lee Moyer for Check These Out, 2012 Literary Pin-up calendar, Worldbuilders, 2011
  • William Stout for Zombies 2012, calendar, Andrews McMeel, 2011
  • Michael Whelan for Gift from the Sea, Dragon*Con 2011 promo art & program book, 2011
  • Michael Zug for IlluXCon 2011 promo poster, 2011


Best Art Director


Award for Lifetime Artistic Achievement

1. nenssa
Every piece in this post is absolutely breathtaking, but my favorite is the Michael Parkes for Moonstruck piece. It's simply phenomenal!
Stefan Raets
2. Stefan
Congratulations to all the winners - especially to Tor and's own Irene Gallo! :)
Irene Gallo
3. Irene
Thanks, Stefan! It really is an honor -- I have so much respect for everyone on the list.
5. rackhamtree
Charles Vess here: Oh good! I really couldn't imagine anyone except 'Moebius' winning the Lifetime Achievment Award. And Congratulations to everyone else, there's some beautiful work there.
Matthew Sanborn Smith
6. MatthewSanbornSmith
Congratulations, Irene! And congrats to all the other winners!
Alan Brown
7. AlanBrown
Congrats, Irene, well deserved recognition for you. And nice to see The Dala Horse get recognized. I loved that one from the first time I saw it on this website.
8. tolladay
A nice feast for the eyes.
9. Mark Molchan
Congrats to everyone! stunning work!
Azara microphylla
11. Azara
Congratulations to all concerned, and especially to Irene Gallo and Julie Dillon for their work here on!
12. Lenore Jones (jonesnori)
It's wonderful to see all of these. Thank you. You might ask your web people to update the link on the product illustrations, though - it points to the gaming illos again.

Subscribe to this thread

Receive notification by email when a new comment is added. You must be a registered user to subscribe to threads.
Post a comment