Mar 10 2010 12:33pm’s Hugo Award-eligible works

Named for Hugo Gernsback, the Hugo Awards are presented each year to outstanding works of science fiction, fantasy, horror, or related fiction genre published during the previous year. The winners are selected by the members of Worldcon. (This year’s convention is Aussiecon 4, in Melbourne, but members from last year are also eligible to nominate and vote; you need to at least buy a supporting membership for Aussiecon in order to participate in the awards process.)

The nominations period is open through this Saturday March 13th, 2010, and we wanted to bring to your attention the eligible works that had the honor of publishing in 2009. The ballot is here, and you may nominate up to five works in each category.


Errata,” by Jeff VanderMeer
January 15, 2009

A Weeping Czar Beholds the Fallen Moon,” by Ken Scholes
February 17, 2009

Eros, Philia, Agape,” by Rachel Swirsky
March 3, 2009

The Cat Who Walked a Thousand Miles,” by Kij Johnson
July 14th, 2009

The Ruined Queen of Harvest World,” by Damien Broderick
August 18, 2009

First Flight,” by Mary Robinette Kowal
August 25th, 2009

Zeppelin City,” by Michael Swanwick and Eileen Gunn
October 5, 2009

The Strange Case of Mr. Salad Monday,” by G. D. Falksen
October 20, 2009

A Memory of Wind,” by Rachel Swirsky
November 3, 2009

Overtime,” by Charles Stross
December 22, 2009


Short Stories:


Escape to Other Worlds with Science Fiction,” by Jo Walton
February 6, 2009

We Haven’t Got There Yet,” by Harry Turtledove
March 19, 2009

Bugs in the Arroyo,” by Steven Gould
April 17, 2009

TVA Baby,” by Terry Bisson
April 28, 2009

Last Son of Tomorrow,” by Greg van Eekhout
May 15th, 2009

The City Quiet as Death,” by Steven Utley and Michael Bishop
June 9, 2009

The House That George Built,” by Harry Turtledove
June 23, 2009

The Nostalgist,” by Daniel H. Wilson
July 28th, 2009

Silver Linings,” by Tim Pratt
September 15, 2009

The Star and the Rockets,” by Harry Turtledove
November 17, 2009

The Horrid Glory of Its Wings,” by Elizabeth Bear
December 8, 2009

Farewell Performance,” by Nick Mamatas
December 31, 2009

Graphic Stories:

Great Uncle George’s Will,” by Andi Watson
January 9, 2009

Yes We Will,” by Dan Goldman
January 19, 2009

Montmartre à Trois,” by Wesley Allsbrook
February 20, 2009

Black Strings,” by Ray Fawkes
May 6, 2009

The Dreaded Question,” by Kurt Huggins and Zelda Devon
June 4, 2009

Happy Birthday, Michael Mitchell,” by Joanna Estep
June 17, 2009

My Grandmother’s House,” by Cassandra Diaz
November 10, 2009

The Tempest Wakens,” Kurt Huggins and Zelda Devon
December 16, 2009


Editor, Short Form:


Patrick Nielsen Hayden


Professional Artists:



James Bennett
(“The House That George Built”)

Rick Berry
(“TVA Baby”)


Tim Bower
(“Farewell Performance”)

Chris Buzelli
(“The Star and the Rockets”)


Benjamin Carre
(“Zeppelin City”)


Jon Foster
(“The City Quiet As Death”)

Gary Kelley
(“Escape to Other Worlds with Science Fiction”)

Kekai Kotaki
(“The Ruined Queen of Harvest World”)

Ross MacDonald
(“Last Son of Tomorrow”)

David Malki
(“The Strange Case of Mr. Salad Monday”)

Gregory Manchess
(“A Weeping Czar Beholds the Fallen Moon”)

Pascal Milelli
(“First Flight”)

Goni Montes
(“The Cat Who Walked a Thousand Miles”)


John Jude Palencar
(“The Horrid Glory of Its Wings”)

Jillian Tamaki
(“We Haven’t Got There Yet”)

Thom Tenery
(“Silver Linings”)

Jonathan Twingley

Sam Weber
(“Eros, Philia, Agape”; “The Nostalgist”; “A Memory of Wind”)

Carl Wiens

Mark Zug
(“Bugs in the Arroyo”)


Elizabeth Gingles
1. Spera
Brit Mandelo
3. BritMandelo
With this awesome of a list, something is bound to win in one category or another.
Irene Gallo
4. Irene
Hi Spera,

This post was meant to be specific to the works that has published.

But that doesn’t mean would love for you to consider Tor novels, editors, and artists. You can check out the Tor corporate site here.
David Goldfarb
5. David_Goldfarb
This year’s convention is Aussiecon 4, in Melbourne, but members from last year are also eligible to nominate and vote.
I believe that's incorrect: members of last year's con are eligible to nominate, but not to vote.
Christine Evelyn Squires
7. ces
Martiniere hasn't done anything for tor that is eligible?
Irene Gallo
8. Irene
CES: Good catch. He did the collabs with Greg Manchess on the Lake/Scholes stories. I'll get him added here.

And that's just for He's done a bunch of book covers for Tor Books and many other publishers so he's definitely eligible.

And just might be on my own ballot. ;-)
Christine Evelyn Squires
9. ces
Thanks Irene! Now all you need to do is change the incorrect spelling of martiniere's first name.
10. Keshet
Are Eytan and Doni Kollin eligible for The Unincorporated Man?
Torie Atkinson
11. Torie
@ 9 ces

Those stories were published in 2010 and are not eligible for nominations this year. Be sure to nominate them next year though!

@ 10 Keshet

Again, these are for works published by Tor Books is a separate entity.
Marc Houle
12. MightyMarc
I think it's going to be a close race for Editor, Short Form. I can sense the tension.

Subscribe to this thread

Receive notification by email when a new comment is added. You must be a registered user to subscribe to threads.
Post a comment