Steampunk Fortnight

Steampunk Fortnight Giveaway: New Books From Tor

And with tears in our eyes—and, presumably, yours—we have come to our final Steampunk Fortnight giveaway: another cache of books-glorious-books from our compatriots at Tor Books.

Dreadnought by Cherie PriestDreadnought by Cherie Priest: “Nurse Mercy Lynch is elbows deep in bloody laundry at a war hospital in Richmond, Virginia, when Clara Barton comes bearing bad news: Mercy’s husband has died in a POW camp. On top of that, a telegram from the west coast declares that her estranged father is gravely injured, and he wishes to see her. Mercy sets out toward the Mississippi River. Once there, she’ll catch a train over the Rockies and—if the telegram can be believed—be greeted in Washington Territory by the sheriff, who will take her to see her father in Seattle.” (Read an excerpt here.)

The Half-Made World by Felix GilmanThe Half-Made World by Felix Gilman: “The world is only half made. What exists has been carved out amidst a war between two rival factions: the Line, paving the world with industry and claiming its residents as slaves; and the Gun, a cult of terror and violence that cripples the population with fear. The only hope at stopping them has seemingly disappeared—the Red Republic that once battled the Gun and the Line, and almost won. Now they’re just a myth, a bedtime story parents tell their children, of hope.” (Read an excerpt here.)

The Rise of the Iron Moon by Stephen HuntThe Rise of the Iron Moon by Stephen Hunt: “From the author of The Court of the Air and The Kingdom Beyond the Waves comes a thrilling new adventure set in the same Victorian-style world. Perfect for fans of Philip Pullman and Susanna Clarke. Born into captivity as a product of the Royal Breeding House, friendless orphan Purity Drake suddenly finds herself on the run with a foreign vagrant after accidentally killing one of her guards. Her strange rescuer claims he is on the run himself from terrible forces who mean to enslave the Kingdom of Jackals as they conquered his own nation. Purity doubts his story, until reports begin to filter through from Jackals’ neighbours of the terrible Army of Shadows, marching across the continent and sweeping all before them. But there’s more to Purity than meets the eye. As Jackals girds itself for war against an army of near-unkillable beasts serving an ancient evil with a terrible secret, it soon becomes clear that their only hope is a strange little royalist girl and the last, desperate plan of an escaped slave.” [ETA: Whoops. The copies of Rise of the Iron Moon will actually be galleys, not finished books. We meant to mention this, but my original version of the post crashed and Chris recreated it but didn’t know that. Sorry for any confusion.]

The Osiris Ritual by George MannThe Osiris Ritual by George Mann: “Sir Maurice Newbury, Gentleman Investigator for the Crown, imagines life will be a little quieter after his dual successes solving The Affinity Bridge affair. But he hasn’t banked on his villainous predecessor, Knox, who is hell-bent on achieving immortality, not to mention a secret agent who isn’t quite what he seems….So continues an adventure quite unlike any other, a thrilling steampunk mystery and the second in the series of Newbury & Hobbes investigations.”

Not Less Than Gods by Kage Baker

Not Less Than Gods by Kage Baker: “Recently returned from war, young Edward Anton Bell-Fairfax is grateful to be taken under the wing of the Gentleman’s Speculative Society.  At the Society, Edward soon learns that a secret world flourishes beneath the surface of London’s society, a world of wondrous and terrible inventions and devices used to tip the balance of power in a long-running game of high-stakes intrigue.  Through his intensive training Edward Anton Bell-Fairfax, unwanted and lonely boy, becomes Edward Anton Bell-Fairfax, Victorian super-assassin, fleeing across the Turkish countryside in steam-powered coaches and honing his fighting skills against clockwork opponents.”

[Also edited to add: In case it wasn’t clear from the official rules: we have five Tor prize packs. We’ll be giving away three right here and one each on Facebook and Twitter, so please feel free to stop by our other outposts on the web to increase your chances of winning.


The Official Rules: To enter, leave one comment on this post—duplicates won’t count—by noon EST on Thursday, November 4th, leave a comment in Facebook, or reply on Twitter. The five winners—three from this post, one on Facebook and one on Twitter—will be chosen randomly. Please check your email on November 4th and 5th; if we don’t hear back from the winner in 24 hours, another winner will be chosen.

373 Comments

Subscribe to this thread